A BUILDING which has been closed to the public for more than a decade attracted more than 700 visitors in just a few hours as it threw open it's door to the public last weekend.
The new owners of Pembroke Dock's Defensible Barracks owners Doug and Lyn Jones held the open day as part of the town's bicentenary celebrations.
Fortifications expert Roger Thomas guided crowds around the site, giving a fascinating insight into life for the soldiers who manned the barracks.
Caroline Fortune, of Pembroke Dock, also talked about her experience of living there with her parents, the late Stan and Beryl Roach.
The event was voted a great success by all and to meet demand another open day will be held in September.
Sitting on the crest of Barrack Hill, the Defensible Barracks has extensive views over the town and the Milford Haven waterway.
The unique star-shaped fortress was completed in 1844 during the reign of Queen Victoria. It is surrounded by a dry moat and was first occupied by the Royal Marines.
In 2009 the barracks was declared the second most endangered Victorian or Edwardian building in Britain and it was placed on the market in 2010.