Pembrokeshire footballers Joe Allen and Angharad James were two of the major winners last night at the Vauxhall FAW Awards at Henson Castle in the Vale Resort, Cardiff.

Stoke City midfielder Allen, 27, currently preparing with the squad for his country’s critical World Cup qualifiers with Georgia (Friday) and the Republic of Ireland (Monday), was voted the Supporters’ Player of the Year - beating off Chris Gunter, Ben Davies, Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey.

The former Ysgol Y Preseli pupil took the honour for the second successive year, after another 12 months in which he has proved a pivotal figure in Chris Coleman's starting XI.

"It's extra special to win it from the fans," he said.

"They've been amazing home and away so thanks to everyone who voted. They're just so positive, they embrace the whole occasion.

"I've had a few songs in the past that weren't so positive so I love the 'Give me hope Joe Allen' lyrics."

Everton Ladies midfielder James meanwhile, received the Women’s Players' Player of the Year.

The 23-year-old from Llandissilio, who has already passed 50 caps for Wales, received her award alongside Gareth Bale, who won the men’s equivalent.

James, who made her international debut aged just 17, signed for Everton in the summer following the sudden folding of Notts County.

And like Allen, she has become a permanent fixture in midfield for club and country, helping Jayne Ludlow's team to a 1-0 win in their opening Women's World Cup qualifying game in Kazakhstan last month.

The FAW Player of the Year awards for the men and women were won by Chris Gunter and Laura O'Sullivan respectively.

The award winners were as follows:

FAW Player of the Year (sponsored by Vauxhall): Chris Gunter; Laura O’Sullivan.

Media Choice Award (sponsored by Brains): Dave Edwards.

FAW Special Award: Ian Rush

Players’ Player of the Year (sponsored by Fosters): Gareth Bale; Angharad James

FAW Young Player of the Year: Ben Woodburn; Peyton Vincze.

Supporters' Player of the Year: Joe Allen; Jess Fishlock.

JD Welsh Premier League Clubman of the Year: Craig Williams (Newtown).

Orchard Welsh Premier Women’s League Clubwoman of the Year: Alicia Powe (Swansea City Ladies).