Whitland (170 for 3 & 146 for 8) beat Carew (121 for 9 & 116 all out)

Delighted Whitland defeated red-hot favourites Carew by a 79-run margin over two innings to win the Harrison-Allen Bowl final for the first time in the club’s history.

This sweet victory for Whitland is surely one of the biggest shocks since the inception of the competition.


The man of the match was awarded to Whitland’s David Dunfee, the brilliant all-rounder struck an undefeated 52 off 29 balls in the first innings that closed on 170-3, as Carew struggled on 121 for 9, that saw them 49 runs behind the run-rate.

Dunfee also took 1-21 in the first innings and followed up with an impressive 3-36 in the second.

In the second innings, Iestyn Scourfield top scored with 36 not out to see Whitland to 146 for 8, which meant that Carew had the gigantic task of scoring 196 runs in 22 overs, to claim an unlikely victory.

In Carew’s second innings Tim Hicks batted superbly for a well compiled 55 not out, but some brilliant bowling by Dunfee and Mark Lee (4-29), kept the favourites at bay as they collapsed all out for a disappointing 116, well short of the target.


Proud Whitland captain Matthew Davies received the Harrison-Allen Bowl as wild celebrations got in full swing afterwards.