Tenby United 14

Newcastle Emlyn 16

Tenby United were unlucky to lose out in a tight game with fellow promotion chasers Newcastle Emlyn.

A cagey first quarter saw both sides fighting for the upper hand without seriously threatening the try line.

Emlyn controlled the scrum and their backline demonstrated some neat offloading which helped put them in the ascendancy.

Two penalties from Rhydian Harries put the visitors 6-0 ahead, and The Seasiders were dealt a further blow when hooker Nicky Guymer was sent to the sin bin.

Tenby number eight Pat Roberts picked up well at the back of an often retreating scrum and was supported through willing ball carriers Roy Osborne and Rob Clarke. Much of the first half unfolded around the half-way line and Tenby’s first real attack actually resulted in Newcastle Emlyn scoring the game’s opening try.

The visitors broke from their own 22 and it was Harries who rounded off a sweeping move before converting his own try.

Tenby though, despite being disrupted by two injuries to their backline, did fight back before the break.

Tom Lewis, on for the departed Dai Meyrick, converted two penalties in quick succession as they capitalised on an Emlyn yellow card to go in 13-6 down at half time.

Tenby were much brighter in the second half and captain Gareth Edwards led by example with some strong ball-carrying alongside flanker Jason Ronowitz.

The opposition were repeatedly penalised at the break down, resulting in Lewis dissecting the posts once more to make it 13-9.

Tenby took the lead for the first time after centre Toby Smith’s precision cross-field kick allowed youngster Greg Caine to score an unconverted try with a fine finish.

But despite pushing for more scores, the home side were unable to exploit their superiority and a questionable penalty allowed Harries to kick Emlyn into the lead once more.

The Seasiders did have a chance to win it at the death but a difficult penalty from Lewis fell the wrong side of the posts, and Tenby lost top spot and their 100% home record.

Tenby United: Aled Bowen, Dan Colley, Mark Heywood, Toby Smith, Dai Meyrick, Lloyd Thomas, Will Crockford, Rob Clarke, Nicky Guymer, Jonny Palmer, Luke Dedman, Gareth Edwards (capt), Roy Osborne, Jason Ronowitz, Pat Roberts. Replacements: Rob Fairlie, Lyndon Jones, Luke Hansford, Tom Lewis, Greg Caine.