Wales' top pupils gathered in Cardiff to compete at the annual Welsh Schools' Athletics Championships on Saturday, July 1.

Twenty Pembrokeshire Harriers' athletes represented Dyfed Schools, with three athletes taking on captaincy roles, Lucy Omnet, Matthew Williams, and Amy Rothero.

Dyfed Schools enjoyed great success, winning the whole event, with Pembrokeshire Harriers athletes largely contributing to the win, with 5 gold, 9 silver and 6 bronze medals.

As well as this impressive medal haul, several Pembrokeshire Harriers athletes will gain Welsh vests for forthcoming international matches as a result of their performances.

The six bronze medalists were Flavia Jenkins, Henry White, Amy Rothero, Andrew Salmon, Ollie Wheeler, and David Evans.

Those who achieved silver medals include Wiliam Lloyd, Caleb Nicholas, Tegan Foley (three silvers), Aaron John, and Lucy Omnet.

As well as these, Pembrokeshire Harriers now have five Welsh Schools Champions, Thea Jenkins (High Jump), Owain Nicholas (1km Walk), David Evans (2km Steeplechase), James Tomlinson (Discus), and Matthew Williams (800m).

In addition to this recent success at the Welsh Schools Championships, Pembrokeshire Harriers will also have three athletes competing at the Under 20 Welsh international.

Today (Wednesday) will see Matthew Williams, James Tomlinson, and Abi Buxton compete for Wales against Welsh Schools and three regions of England at the International Athletics Stadium at Cardiff.

Congratulations to these athletes and their coaches Pete Freeman, Paul Jenson (Cardiff), and Liz Rowland.