Welsh League Division One:
Goytre 3-2 Haverfordwest County

HAVERFORDWEST County will look to bounce back from their first league defeat of the season when they take on rivals Carmarthen Town in the second round of the Nathaniel MG Cup tomorrow night.

The Bluebirds meet the Old Gold in the 'A40 derby' - with a 7.30pm kick off at The Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium.

And they will want a good display against the Welsh Premier League side to help boune back from Saturay's loss at Goytre.

leading 1-0 half time, The Bluebirds succumbed to a three-goal Goytre burst in the second half and even Steffan Williams’ late second goal couldn’t pull things round.

The signs early on were good as Joe Leahy and Sean Pemberton both went close - and they went even closer shortly afterwards when a humdinger from Greg Walters was just tipped over by the Goytre keeper.

Leahy followed this with another good effort which was also deflected for a corner.

A Blues goal was threatening for a while but finally arrived on the stroke of half-time, when Steffan Williams was brought down in the box but got up to put the penalty away.

A quick-fire Goytre brace just after the interval saw full back Oliver Dalton go on a 30-yard run from deep and fire in from 20 yards.

And after Matthew Prosser converted from a corner kick, a third Goytre goal came as a real blow, centre back Gary Colbourne getting to a corner ahead of Conah McFenton.

The Blues fought back hard and should have been helped by the fact that a physical Goytre side which had picked up three yellow cards early on, now saw two of them converted to red, so that by the 85th minute they were down to nine men.

Williams got his second five minutes from the end, when he latched on to a defensive lapse and cut in to score well from a narrow angle.

The Blues went close again but it was never quite enough to pull back that final deficit.

Haverfordwest: Conah McFenton, Matthew Broome, Kristian Speake, Sean Pemberton, Sam Rodon, Nicky Palmer (Tim Hicks, 70), Ricky Watts, Greg Walters, Joe Leahy, Dan Williams, Steffan Williams.

Subs not used: Alaric Jones, Leon Luby, Charlie Davies.