A packed house thoroughly enjoyed the Sport Pembrokeshire Awards ceremony at the Follies Theatre, Folly Farm, on Friday.

It's definitely the biggest sports awards ceremony ever held in the county, and just proves what an important role it plays in Pembrokeshire people's lives.

Councillor Rob Lewis, cabinet member for sport and leisure said: "The success of the presentations reflect the depth and range of sport in the county. The real winner on the night was sport itself."

The whole evening has been hailed a big success and was superbly fronted by master of ceremonies Western Telegraph sports writer Bill Carne and Sport Pembrokeshire manager John Deason.

There were nine different categories where the three finalists were brought on stage before the winner was announced.

There were two other surprise awards given on the night - a lifetime achievement award to ex-professional boxer Scott Gammer, who was unable to attend, and a prize for outstanding sporting achievement to teenage Wales international bowler Isobelle White. Her trophy was presented by County Council chairman Bill Roberts.

John Deason said: "The success of the awards scheme was in no small part due to the Western Telegraph's commitment, sustained publicity and build-up to the event.

Winners and finalists: Women's sporting achievement of the year (sponsored by Stephen Jones Windows) Winner: Haverfordwest ladies hockey team. Runners-up: Becky Harries (golf) and Emma Summons.

Men's sporting achievement of the year (sponsored by Eddie's Snooker Bar) Winner: Joe Allen (football). Runners-up: Stephen Inward (cricket) and St Ishmaels Cricket Club.

Boy's under-16 sporting achievement of the year (sponsored by Thomas Scourfield and Son) Winner: Harry Owen (gymnastics). Runners-up: Dominic Colman (athletics) and Andrew Salter (cricket).

Girl's under-16 sporting achievement of the year (sponsored by the Cricket Shop and Lord's International) Winner: Ngaire Strawbridge (sailing). Runners-up: Jordan Hart (badminton) and Pembrokeshire Panthers.

Disability sport award (sponsored by Canaston Bowl) Winner: Raymond Lillycrop (gymnastics). Runners-up: Jacob Thomas (boccia) and Ryan Llewellyn (swimming).

School/club partnership of the year (sponsored by Jewson) Winner: Neyland Community School. Runners-up: Broad Haven Primary School and Pembroke Dock Community School.

Unsung hero of the year (sponsored by Western Telegraph) Winner: Gerald Hicks (Carew cricket and football). Runners-up: Anne Mear (Pembroke Dock Community School) and Ray Kane (cricket).

Sports organiser of the year (sponsored by Radio Pembrokeshire) Winner: Trevor Morgans (junior football). Runners-up Helen Rogers Rogers (Pembroke Dock Quins rugby) and Cresselly Cricket Club.

Coach of the year (sponsored by Chevron) Winner: John Amos (swimming). Runners-up: Jean Jones (disability gymnastics) and Huw Bevan (football).

"The scheme has not only recognised the worthy winners but also highlighted the importance and value of the volunteers and sponsors that keep grass roots sport going."