England head coach Stuart Lancaster has named 26 of his South Africa tour party in the new elite player squad.

Lancaster makes seven changes from the 32-strong elite group he unveiled six months ago.

There are call-ups for Leicester trio Anthony Allen, Geoff Parling and Thomas Waldrom, Harlequins scrum-half Danny Care, Saracens back Alex Goode, London Irish centre Jonathan Joseph and Exeter flanker Tom Johnson.

Saracens wing David Strettle, who is in the England Saxons squad, is the highest-profile casualty, while others who miss out include Wasps scrum-half Joe Simpson and Leicester lock Louis Deacon. Charlie Hodgson and Lee Mears both recently retired from Test rugby.

Care returns among the elite group following his well-documented off the pitch problems last season, joining fellow scrum-halves Ben Youngs and Lee Dickson.

Six players who did not tour South Africa last month because of injury are all back - Gloucester wing Charlie Sharples, Northampton forwards Courtney Lawes and Tom Wood, Saracens prop Matt Stevens, Bath hooker Rob Webber and Leicester flanker Tom Croft.

There are first appearances, meanwhile, in the Saxons squad for Sale Sharks back Rob Miller - last season's Aviva Premiership top try-scorer - Wasps wing Christian Wade, Leicester fly-half George Ford, Bath prop Nathan Catt and Worcester flanker Matt Kvesic.

But there is no place in either group for fly-half Danny Cipriani, who will make his Premiership return with Sale next term following a Super Rugby stint at Melbourne Rebels.

England elite player squad - Backs: A Allen (Leicester), C Ashton (Saracens), B Barritt (Saracens), M Brown (Harlequins), D Care (Harlequins), L Dickson (Northampton), O Farrell (Saracens), T Flood (Leicester), B Foden (Northampton), A Goode (Saracens), J Joseph (London Irish), C Sharples (Gloucester), M Tuilagi (Leicester), J Turner-Hall (Harlequins), B Youngs (Leicester).

Forwards: M Botha (Saracens), A Corbisiero (London Irish), D Cole (Leicester), T Croft (Leicester), P Dowson (Northampton), D Hartley (Northampton), T Johnson (Exeter), C Lawes (Northampton), J Marler (Harlequins), B Morgan (Gloucester), T Palmer (Wasps), G Parling (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins), M Stevens (Saracens), T Waldrom (Leicester), R Webber (Bath), T Wood (Northampton).