Division One champions Carew will start the 2018 season in Division Two after declining the chance to appeal against sanctions imposed on them by the Pembroke County Cricket Club last week.

On Tuesday, September 26th, club representatives attended a hearing in relation to the First XI’s controversial decision to declare their innings on 19 for 1 against Cresselly on the final day of the season, and deny their opponents the chance to claw back the 21-point deficit required to beat them to the title.

At the hearing, the club faced the charge of bringing Pembroke County Cricket Club into disrepute, and their captain, Brian Hall, answered a charge of breaking the code of conduct and spirit of cricket.

The PCCC ruled both Carew and Hall to be guilty, and although they remained champions of Division One – they were relegated into Division Two for the 2018 season and fined £300.

Hall himself was banned from playing cricket from April 22nd to August 31st of 2018, but with the months of July and August of that punishment suspended until August 31st, 2019.

PCCC President Nick Evans told Telegraph Sport on Friday that the club had received written confirmation of the sanctions, and then had a four day period in which both they and Hall could execute their right to appeal.

That period has now expired, and Telegraph Sport understands no appeals were submitted, meaning the punishments imposed will stand.

As a result, previously relegated Kilgetty will retain their Division One Status - and with Carew 2nds automatically having to drop down from Division Two to Division Three, Whitland 2nds will be spared relegation from the second tier.

The Pembroke County Cricket Club are yet to officially comment, but are due to release an official statement on the matter.