MORE than 600 voters in one south Pembrokeshire community are getting the chance to go to the polls in their first community council election for 29 years.

A keen contest is on the cards for the Amroth ward of Amroth Community Council, where there are 15 nominations for nine seats - six of them being new faces.

"It's quite exciting, and a really good sign for democracy," said council clerk Pauline Davies.

"I just hope that people will turn out and use their vote."

The ward covers the areas of Pleasant Valley, Stepaside, Wisemans Bridge and Amroth, and the polling station is at Llanteg Village Hall.

Candidates standing are: Alan Davies, Sue Enfield, Peter William Greenaway, Roger Harries, Glyndwr James, Martyn Andrew James, George Jones, Bernard William Lawrence, Joyce Lewis, Pat Lucas, Jacqueline Pearce, Cynthia Scourfield Lewis, Kelvin Thomas, Peter Waddilove and Peter Williams.

However, there will be no election in the council's Crunwere ward - covering the Llanteg district - where the three nominations for the three seats are: Tony Brinsden, Madeline Cole and John James.

The full list of candidates standing in the town and community councils can be found at www.pembrokeshire