Whitland 2nds (158 for 7) beat Saundersfoot (157 all out)

AFTER going all season without a hint of a defeat, runaway section champions Saundersfoot finished the season with something of a damp squib as Whitland Seconds battled hard to remove their unbeaten record.

Electing to bat first, Saundersfoot's final total of 157 all out in only 29.4 overs owed much to Danny Caines powerful 77, which included three fours and four big sixes. James Caine (29) and Chris Hawkes (21) were the only other Seasiders in double figures against Geraint Jones (3 for 40), Geraint Phillips (3 for 37) Paul Webb (3 for 11) and Connor Bowen (1 for 26).

Jones (31) and Phillips (33) batted well for Whitland alongside Wayne Jones (20) and Paul Oeppen (17).

James Caine claimed 3 for 48 but brother Danny sustained an injury after taking 1 for 9 in his two overs, with veteran Chris Parker (2 for 24) and Hawkes (1 for 7) as the other successful Saundersfoot bowlers before Paul Webb staked a claim for the man of the match tag with a late 27 not out to take Whitland to victory in 51.5 overs.

Umpire: Peter Perry.

Scorers: Ann-Marie Jenkins and Adge John.