Division Three West A:

Neyland 10-40 Pembroke 

Pembroke maintained their thrust for top spot in the table as they crossed the Cleddau Bridge to Neyland and returned with a bonus-point win over Neyland as they outscored their old rivals by six tries to two.

The All Blacks provided a sterner test than the final scoreline might suggest but The Scarlets showed their squad strength as they overcame the loss through injury in the opening ten minutes of centre Sean Dalling and full back Luke Hartland.

The platform for their success was again the work rate of their powerful pack, where the front row of Johnny Palmer, Seamus Wiseman and especially Lloyd Davies was rock-solid and with skipper Scott Powell and Will Edwards as ball users alongside Sam Smith and Dom Colman it was a recipe for success.

Winger Elliott Evans opened The Scarlets’ account with a try conceived and converted by Toby Smith, who did the same thing when Dan Colley added their second score.

Sam Smith then powered over for a try which brother Toby converted before Neyland’s efforts were rewarded close to half time when Craig Grice crossed for an unconverted try.

Toby Smith added a try soon after half time and also converted before Sam Smith grabbed his second try from close range.

Then Billy Wood, who had switched from flanker to wing in the early reshuffle, scored the Scarlets’ sixth try which Toby Smith did well to convert – but there was still time for Neyland player/coach Steve Martin to slice through for a quality try as reward for his team’s contribution to an entertaining tussle.

Neyland: Chris Morgan, Adam Cawley, Alex Codd, Steve Martin, Craig Grice, Jonny Lloyd, Mark Riley, Jack Harries, Richard Jones, Yori Salter, Mark James (capt), Jimmy Buirds, Jake Evans, Iestyn Evans, Scott Buirds. Replacements: Craig Power, Luke Dawes, Ryan Hill.

Pembroke: Luke Hartland, Simon Stanford, Sean Salling, Dan Colley, Elliot Evans, Toby Smith, Tom Lewis, Lloyd Davies, Seamus Wiseman, Johnny Palmer, Scott Powell (capt), Will Edwards, Dom Colman, Billy Wood, Sam Smith. Replacements: May Hayward, Alex Wilkes, Rhodri Walters, Jordan Evans, Barry John.