PEMBROKESHIRE anglers dominated the Welsh squad that competed at Domburg, Holland, in the 2017 EFSA European Shore Fishing Championships.

Wales had eight representatives at this prestigious event in two teams of four - with the A team compromising of John O’Connor (Martletwy - captain), Phil Lustig (Stackpole - Team Manager), Haydn Cole (Lamphey) and Mike Flynn (Benllech).

The B Team was made up of Shane (Captain) and Daniel Tucker (Milford Haven), Steve Lewis (Penally) and Derek Gregory (Milford Haven).

The Welsh teams peformed well against extremely stiff competition from other European countries, such as Holland, Germany, Italy, Iceland, Malta, England and Ireland - as they finished eighth and ninth respectively out of 13 teams entered, despite being a team member short with only four in each team rather than the usual five.

And since only the top four scores count on each day, neither side had the luxury of dropping their worst score.

On an individual basis, Haydn won the Silver Pin for finishing runner up to local angler, and winner last time it was fished in Holland (2013), Arjan Rijnberg.

The next highest placed Welsh angler was Mike Flynn in 14th, who has previously fished in and managed the Welsh Shore team at the World Championships.