Newcastle Emlyn 13
Narberth 26

Narberth travelled to Newcastle Emlyn in the knowledge that victory there is never easy tere so Sean Gales and his squad will have made the trip back to The Lewis Lloyd Ground delighted with a bonus point win.

As a result, The Otters cemented second place behind runaway leaders Pontypool and are seven points ahead of the chasing pack, as proof of the terrific team spirit demonstrated under skipper Alex Jenkins.

They took the lead at Ddol Wiber after four minutes thanks to a penalty by Jonathan Rogers and added an unconverted try by winger Liam Hutchings after a clever kick to the corner by Rogers.

The Emlyn pack are renowned for their physicality, however, and served notice of intent as they earned two penalty chances which Ashley Sutton slotted with aplomb to cut the gap to two points – only for The Otters to lead 13-6 at half time, following an excellent try by powerful young winger Jack Parkinson.

Parkinson did well to add his second soon after the break but Emlyn showed their determination with a try from hooker Alex Williams with eight minutes left, converted by Sutton, to set up an interesting finish.

A Rogers’ penalty gave The Otters a bit of a breathing space and they secured that vital fourth score when the home side conceded a penalty 35 metres out, were twice marched back by the referee for dissent and allowed skipper Jenkins to opt for a Narberth scrum.

After two resets his pack decided to go for a series of drives and after it was Jenkins who was held up just short the try was claimed by busy flanker Tom Powell.

The conversion went astray but it mattered little because The Otters were good value for victory ahead of a challenging home tie in the Welsh Cup this Saturday against Premiership side Bedwas!

Narberth: Nick Gale, Liam Hutchings, Kieran Jones, Paul Davies, Jack Parkinson, Jonathan Rogers, Lewys Gibby, Bradley Davies, Dan Smith, Tom Slater, Jake Simm, Ryan Banner, Alex Jenkins, Dewi Williams, Steffan Phillips.Replacements: Rhys Davies, Rhodri Owens, Tom Powell, Jake Jenkins, Moritz Neumann.