There will be new rules on draw points and declarations for the 2018 Pembrokeshire cricket season following last night's PCCC AGM at Haverfordwest.

After much debate, a proposal from Cresselly's Stefan Jenkins designed to encourage more teams to bat first was passed by 92 votes to 57.

Under the new rule, the side batting second, providing they are not bowled all out, will still receive one point for being within 50 runs of the opposition, two for being within 40, three within 30, four within 20 and five within 10.

But now, the side batting first will receive any of the remaining points - and will get 20 points plus any bonus points if the team chasing doesn't get within 50 runs.

It means there is now a maximum of 29 points available for a 'winning draw', instead of 24.

Another proposal from Jenkins, relating to points awarded in Division Five, was also passed. 

In that league this summer, there will be 10 points awarded for a win, one to the losing team for playing the fixture, and additional bonus points for every 25 runs scored or two wickets taken.

Another major new rule passed was a new rule on declarations, proposed by Trefor Evans - who was also made an honorary PCCC life member on the night.

Following the controversial finish to the Division One title race last season, now sides must bat for a minimum of 35 overs in Divisions One and Two before declaring, 30 overs in Division Three and Four, and 25 overs in Division Five.

And in the Harrison Allen Bowl, there will be 'free hits' following a front foot no ball, after a proposal from Haverfordwest CC was comfortably passed.

However, notions of allowing player permits in the lower divisions, restricting the amount of overs a players can bowl, and awarding points to teams who supply qualified umpires, were amongst those rejected by club and PCCC members.

A number of amendments were also made to Ormond Youth Cup and Junior League rules.

There was also an election on the night for the six members of the PCCC Executive and Finance Committee for 2018 - with David Brandon, Dai Morris, Peter Betterley, Simon Williams, Richard Scriven and Peter Davies all voted on.