Division Three West A

Tregaron 12

Pembroke 81

Pembroke produced a powerhouse performance at Tregaron which moved them back to the top of the section table with two games still in hand, leading by 34-5 at half time and finally finishing with 13 tries and eight conversions.

It completed a high-scoring double for coach Geraint Lewis’s boys because they had already beaten Tregaron by 79-14 at Crickmarren. Lewis has assembled a very strong squad and proof of this could be found by the appearance at hooker of Tim Sharp after Seamus Wiseman, Max Hayward had all been injured, whilst another hooker in Jim Brace also featured from the bench.

The Pembroke pack was on top from the outset as Johnny Palmer, Sharp and man of the match Jamie Brayford were rock solid and skipper Scott Powell was joined in the engine room by Cyle Weatherall, who certainly supplemented the ball winning capacities of Dom Colman, Sam Smith and Rhodri Walters in the back row.

It was Colman who opened the scoring with a try converted by Toby Smith, who also added the third try after a typical score by winger Simon Stanford was neatly sandwiched in between.

Colman’s second put the Scarlets 22 points to the good before Tregaron claimed a try for their efforts in a rare period of pressure But Pembroke were quickly back on the offensive with further tries by flanker Rhodri Walters and classy centre Dan Colley, who also opened the second-half scoring with a try converted by scrum half Tom Lewis, giving a break for Toby Smith, who had a slight leg strain in the biting cold weather.

Sam Smith added his name to the scoresheet and replacement centre Elliott Evans sped over and Lewis converted to send The Scarlets past the 50-mark.

It says much for Tregaron’s determination that they managed to add a converted try before Cyle Weatherall scored a try, Evans grabbed his second and Simon Stanford showed his pace with a hat-trick of tries, three converted by Lewis and the final one slotted by Toby Smith.

Pembroke: Luke Brayford, Fraser James, Dan Colley, Sean Dalling, Simon Stanford, Toby Smith, Tom Lewis, Jamie Brayford, Tom Sharp, Johnny Palmer, Scott Powell (Capt), Cyle Wetherall, Dom Colman, Rhodri Walters, Sam Smith. Replacements: Jim Brace, Elliott Evans, Jordan Gwilliam, Connor Evans, Billy Wood.