Division Three West A:

Haverfordwest 22-20 Cardigan 20

A LATE try from winger Scott Candler helped Haverfordwest gain a narrow win at home to Cardigan, who at least had a losing bonus point to take back over the Preselis after a tight clash.

To be fair to both teams there was clear evidence of ring rustiness after so many weeks of inactivity but coaches Bruce Evans (Haverfordwest) and Colin Davies (Cardigan) must have been relieved to see their teams back in action.

It was Cardigan who made the early running when good work by Dafydd Watkins and Marcus Castle in midfield allowed winger Sion Hughes to race over for an unconverted try.

But The Blues soon bounced back as Lee Summons, Liam Mainwaring and Ross McKenzie created enough space for Gareth Owen to dive over for another unconverted try which levelled matters.

The Teifisiders responded with a well-worked try for No 10 Tom Dunne which skipper John Lumb, playing at full back, converted and then added a penalty to put his team 15-5 to the good.

Home full back Rhys Baker looked solid in defence but also showed his attacking prowess as he reduced the deficit with a try which youth team replacement Jake Williams, on for Summons at scrum half, converted.

Baker added his second try to haul The Blues ahead for the first time but as fortunes ebbed and flowed the Cardis fought back with a try from prop Ben Hughes in the 75th minute.

It looked as though Haverfordwest would have to settle for a losing bonus point but right on time Candler struck – and although the conversion hit the post and bounced out it mattered little because Haverfordwest were able to claim victory – and the luxury of a bonus point for scoring four tries.

Haverfordwest: Rhys Baker, Dave O’Leary, Ross McKenzie, Gareth Owen, Scott Candler, Liam Mainwaring, Lee Summons, Cole Barr, Jamie Zambass, Tom Carrington, Karl Busch, Jack Clancy, Steve Thomas, Morgan Layton. Replacements: Matthew Clayton, Mark Wilson, Kyle Hamer, Lewis Wood, Jack Morgan, Hywel Churchill.

Cardigan: John Lumb (Capt), Sion Hughes, Dafydd Watkins, Marcus Castle, William James Delve, Tomos Dunne, Llyr Jones, Ben Hughes, Andrew Jones, Michael Ryan, Toby Neilson, Sion Hughes, Tomos Taylor, Gruffydd Lewis, Llyr Griffiths. Replacements: Andrew Fletcher, Kieran Hurley, Russ Hasler; Rhydian Jenkins, Colin Davies.