Narberth 42-17 Newcastle Emlyn

Narberth were good value for victory in this local derby clash with Newcastle Emlyn as they ran in seven tries and kept a clean sheet for much of the match until Emlyn grabbed three late tries as Otters’ coach Sean Gale gave his players on the bench a chance of a run-out.

Winger Nick Gale, happily back in action after a long spell out injured, gave Narberth the early lead with a long-range penalty and then Gale’s winding run and excellent scoring pass gave Ianto Griffiths the chance to cross the whitewash in his 100th match for The Otters.

A busy Gale looked likely to score a try himself but was recalled for a forward pass; but Narberth went into the break with an 18-0 lead as other unconverted tries came from hooker Rhodri Owens, who showed real determination as he rounded off a forward drive at a lineout and twisted his way out of a tackle before stretching out to reach the whitewash, and No 8 Richard Rees as reward for his support play.

Similar story after half time

It was a similar story after the interval as Newcastle Emlyn battled away but home half backs Lewys Gibby and Jonathan Rogers varied their play well – and bustling flanker Tom Powell cut through to the posts so Gale could slot the simple extras.

Nick Gale claimed the try of the match after a chip ahead by Rogers found Kieron Jones, whose second kick allowed Gale to sprint in at the corner and add the superb conversion.

Powell and Griffiths scored second tries to put The Otters 42-0 ahead before Emlyn showed great resilience to score late tries by flanker Callum Evans, winger Daniel Davies and replacement Mike Jones, one converted by Mitch Jones but it was too late for them to pouch a bonus point as reward for their contribution to an entertaining match.

Narberth: Ianto Griffiths, Nick Gale, Kieran Jones, Paul Davies, Gethin Gibby, Jonathan Rogers, Lewys Gibby, Bradley Davies, Rhodri Owens, Tom Slater, Ryan Banner, Alex Jenkins (Capt), Tom Powell, Sean Jenkins, Richard Rees. Replacements: Ryan Rees, Steffan Phillips, Dewi Williams, James Stephenson, Joe Hutchings.

Newcastle Emlyn:  Ashley Sutton, Llyr Freeman, Llyr Jones, Steffan Jones, Daniel Davies, Mitch Jones, Dafydd Evans, David Jones, Alex Williams, Ifan James, Dan Harvard, Bleddyn Davies, Emrys Davies, Callum Evans, Brynmor Jones. Replacements: Dai Bryant, Dyfed Morgan, Osian Davies, Mike Jones, Tomos Jones.