Griffiths Cup final:

Crymych U18s 24-26 Narberth U18s 

Griffiths Cup Finals are traditionally hard fought and full of action and the 2018 version was certainly no exception as the under 18s from Crymych and Narberth produced a terrific end to their seasons at the traditional venue of Neyland before the Young Otters edged home by two points.

Running rugby galore

It was evident from the outset that there was going to be plenty of running rugby after the battle to secure good possession was sorted and the ball was spread wide – and it was Narberth centre Dylan Walsh who sliced through to score a try which full back Llew Jones converted.

But back came Crymych after good work by second row Morgan Davies, hooker Morgan James and prop Iwan Twigg which allowed play to be spread wide and full back Rhodri George scored a try for No 10 Harri Williams to add the extra points.

As fortunes ebbed and flowed the Young Otters regained the lead with an unconverted try by bustling No 8 Kieran Allen but Crymych responded well as winger Dafydd Griffiths used his pace to good effect in scoring a try which Williams goaled to give his side the lead for the first time.

Kyle Williams, Tom Clark, Henry Foster and  Owain Hughes were involved as Allen then added his second try before outstanding Narberth full back Llew Jones, the man of the match for his attacking skills and defensive organisation, notched the conversion.

Fortunes ebb and flow

Harri Williams reduced the deficit to only two points with a penalty but a good try from second row Griff Evans, which Jones again converted, seemed to have made the game relatively safe for the Young Otters – only for Crymych to grab a good try by centre Ilan Phillips, again converted by Williams, setting up a nail-biting conclusion.

But it was to be the final score of a pulsating contest and so Narberth are the Griffiths Cup winners for 2018 in a match that was a credit to the players and coaches Richard Merriman and Andy Jeremiah (Narberth) plus Kevin Phillips and Tudor Harries (Crymych).

Crymych U18s: Rhodri George, Dafydd Griffiths, Ifan Davies, Ilan Phillips, Steffan Rees, Harri Williams, Ilan George, Iwan Twigg, Morgan James, Matthew Iorwerth-Scott, Morgan Davies, Sion Lloyd, Owain Rogers, Hedd James, Sion Wilson. Replacements: Griff Williams, Ned Bennett, Owain Evans. Coaches: Kevin Phillips, Tudor Harries.

Narberth U18s: Llew Jones, Lewis Thompson, Dylan Walsh, Ifan Rees, James Thomas, Lewis Hough, Josh Jones, Declan Cole, Tom Clark, Stephen Pilot, Kyle Williams, Griff Evans, Henry Foster, Owain Hughes, Kieran Allen. Replacements: Caleb Higgon, Jack Norcross, Dafydd Gibby, Ryan Bartlett, Rhys Davies, Ryan Scourfield, Toby Taylor. Coaches: James Merriman, Andy Jeremiah.

Referee: Charlie Watts.

Assistants: Martin Williams; David Byrne.