For sporty Primary School children, teachers, volunteers and parents across the county, all roads led to Oakwood last Thursday and the Pembrokeshire Primary Schools Cross Country Championships.

The event was organised by Pembrokeshire Harriers in partnership with Sport Pembrokeshire and under a clear blue sky and bright sunshine, hundreds of competitors and spectators alike flooded to the venue.

In its 28th year, the Championships has been led by Pete Freeman who was involved in the very first race in 1990. Originally held at Haverfordwest Racecourse, then Haverfordwest RFC before moving to Oakwood.

Freeman said: "We were delighted to see so many primary schools in attendance and the children enjoying the event. The fine weather certainly helped and the course was in great condition thanks to the Oakwood Theme Park staff. Our thanks to all the marshals, volunteers, staff and St John Ambulance for making the championships a success."

It was the Year 3 children who got the action underway, followed by the Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6 age category for boys and girls. A total of 48 schools were represented and between the eight races, with a total number of 1,178 children finishing. Runners were in good company, led at the front and back as hares; by middle distance athletes at Pembrokeshire Harriers - Gracie Griffiths, Alice Evans, Iori Humphreys and Rhys Llewellyn. 

There to present medals to the winning individuals and teams was Wales and British Race walker Heather Lewis, who competed in the Commonwealth Games earlier this year at the Gold Coast, Australia.

Lewis said: "It was fantastic to see so many attend and I was delighted to be invited. My advice to the youngsters taking part would be to try hard and focus on enjoyment as it can take you a long way."

The team winners on the day came from Narberth, Mary Immaculate, Y Frenni, Lamphey, Gelli Aur, Redhill and Saundersfoot, totalling seven schools. Milford Haven, Prendergast, Gellyswick, Spittal, Templeton, Roch and Cleddau Reach were top three in the team positions in their respective categories.

Reflecting on the races Matt Freeman, Active Young People Manager for Sport Pembrokeshire added: "The Oakwood Primary School Cross Country is established as the flagship schools event of the Sport Pembrokeshire calendar and Thursday saw a great afternoon of racing.

"From a sports development perspective, our attendance was vital as we have a chance to speak to the children and parents about athletics opportunities."

Year 3 Girls: 1 Marilia Batsapi (Gelli Aur); 2 Molly Charlon (Caer Elen); 3 Lily Partistris (Milford Haven)

Year 3 Boys: 1 Harry Broadhurst (Tenby Juniors); 2 Oliver John (Pembroke); 3 Reuben Evans (Lamphey)

Year 4 Girls: 1 Lexi Allen (Mary Immaculate); 2 Rose Price (Gelli Aur); 3 Chloe Norman (Milford Haven)

Year 4 Boys: 1 Caden Fox (Mary Immaculate); 2 David Schorded (Mary Immaculate); 3 Jack Billingham (Tavernspite)

Year 5 Girls: 1 Ophelia Jenkins (Tavernspite); 2 Sky Bruce (Penrhyn); 3 Delphie Beks (Saundersfoot)

Year 5 Boys: 1 Carter Heyward (Tenby Juniors); 2 Thomas Hunter (Redhill); 3 Dylan Evans (Milford Haven)

Year 6 Girls: 1 Carys Kenniford (Lamphey); 2 Phyllis Davies (Tavernspite); 3 Annabelle Wilson (Roch)

Year 6 Boys: 1 Rowan Dixon (Gellyswick); 2 William Harries (Hook); 3 Connor Davies (Sageston)

The Dyfed Primary Schools Cross Country Championships will feature Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion schoolchildren, when it takes place at the United Counties Showground in Carmarthen in April 2019.