The Pembrokeshire Harriers celebrated a terrific 2018 season at their annual awards evening which was held at The Pavilion in Haverfordwest, with Nigel Rowland the master of ceremonies for a celebratory occasion attended by over 100 athletes and parents.

Nigel included the impressive statistics that in the 2018 season members of the club achieved - one GB vest; eight Welsh vests; 22 Gold medals at Welsh Championships; Nine Welsh Regional champions; 22 Gold Medals in West Wales Championships; 34 Dyfed Schools’ Champions; one British Masters Champion.
Superb audio-visual presentations:

As is traditional at the awards, everyone was treated to some superb audio/visual sections, compiled by Huw Lloyd, where almost everyone representing The Harriers appeared on the large screen in competitions like the Louise Arthur League or the Gerald Codd Memorial Competition.
Special guests present trophies:

Heather Lewis, who had represented Wales in 20K race walking at the Commonwealth Games in Australia, and James Tomlinson, the club’s top discus thrower who is highly ranked amongst the world’s junior throwers - were on hand.

Both are UK representatives who already have their eyes set on their respective World Championships in 2019 - but were delighted to join all the other athletes in receiving their medals to commemorate their participation as a Pembrokeshire Harrier this season.

Impassioned plea from secretary Liz:

Liz Rowland, who is the club secretary and high jump coach, started the evening with an impassioned plea to the parents in attendance that they were always welcome to add to the club’s growing list of coaches, administrators and volunteers.

The annual awards were presented by Peter Freeman, the club President and middle distance coach, and Huw Morgan, who as well as being a javelin coach is The Harriers’ vice-president.
Special Awards made:

Also presented was the Sulien Award for effort, given annually by his mother, Rachel Mathias, in memory of her late son, and she told the young athletes how important trying their best was if they were to achieve their potential. The winner this year was Rhys Llewellyn.

Heather Lewis also received a special award for being the first Harrier to represent Wales in the Commonwealth Games and it was presented to the race walker by Bill Carne, of
The main awards were presented to:
Under 11 Boys’ Achievement: Callum White.
Under 11 Girls’ Achievement: Ophelia Jenkins.
Under 13 Boys’ Achievement: Rhys Lloyd Roberts.
Under 13 Girls’ Achievement: Lucy Wintle.
Under 15 Boys’ Achievement: Dafydd Pawlett.
Under 15 Girls’ Achievement: Ella Wintle.
Under 17 Boys’ Achievement: Wiliam Lloyd.
Under 17 Girls’ Achievement: Chloe Fox.
Under 20/ Senior Men’s Achievement: James Tomlinson .
Under 20/Senior Women’s Achievement: Thea Jenkins.
Mike’s involvement celebrated:

There was also an additional set of awards supplied in memory of the late Mike Davies, from Fishguard, a former teacher in Milford who supported athletics - and given to young athletes who stepped in to help fill gaps in competitions, as well as competing in their own events.

Under 11 Girl: Sophie Llewelyn
Under 11 Boy: William Harries
Under 13 Girl: Grace Griffiths
Under 13 Boy: Aaron Briskham
Under 15 Girl: Megan Poupard
Under 15 Boy: Iolo Griffiths