Division Two West: Pembroke 15-13 Fishguard and Goodwick 

Outside half Toby Smith’s last-gasp penalty helped Pembroke complete the double over Fishguard and Goodwick at Crickmarren, following their 17-16 victory at The Moors as supporters were again treated to a thrilling finish.

The Seagulls will certainly look at this defeat as another game where they had their chances and they were actually 13-12 ahead before they transgressed in front of their own posts and paid the price as Smith calmly sent the ball sailing between the uprights.

To be fair to The Scarlets they were coming off the back of an enforced three week gap in their season and they certainly looked ring rusty as the visitors made the brighter start.

Indeed, The Seagulls finally took the lead after 35 minutes with a cracking try from a scrum almost 40 metres out and young scrum half Andrew Williams made a sniping run down the blind side before skipper Chris Shousha broke through and slipped the final pass back to Williams for the No 9 to dive over at the posts. No 10 Kial Keane converted.

But The Scarlets responded with a quality try of their own when quick handling from Toby Smith, Tom Harding-Jones and especially Lewys Gibby (playing at full back on permit from Narberth put Dan Colley over before Smith added the conversion.

The Seagulls responded with a Keane penalty but Pembroke took the lead when a canny snipe down the blind-side from a scrum allowed Tom Lewis to send skipper Scott Powell over for a try – and they  thought they had added a third score but Colley was recalled for a marginal forward pass.

The second half was equally as combative and without any further points until the 68th minute, when Keane landed his second penalty to put his team a single point in front – but as Pembroke tried desperately for that vital late score it finally came in those closing seconds and condemn Fishguard to a solitary bonus point.

Pembroke remain fourth, but are just two points off second placed Pontyberem.

Pembroke: Lewys Gibby, Barry Alderman-John, Dan Colley, Tom Harding-Jones, Sion Dalling, Toby Smith, Tom Lewis, Jamie Kaijaks, Seamus Wiseman, Johnny Palmer, Scott Powell (Capt), Will Edwards, Sam Smith, Rhodri Walters, Alex Thomas. Replacements:  Jack Smythe, Jordan Gwilliam, Lloyd Davies.

Fishguard & Goodwick: Robbie Jones, Ed Bendall, Sion Rowlands, Thomas George, Rhys Evans, Kial Keane, Andrew Williams, Ryan McVeigh, Jordan Jones, Andrew Morrillo, Luke Freebury, Ben John, Lewis Davies, Simon James, Chris Shousha (Capt). Replacements: Adam Bowen, James Wilkes, Richard Hunter, Alun George.