WRU Cup: Swansea RFC 27-10 Narberth

This trip to the prestigious St Helen’s ground was a chance for Narberth to gage themselves against Premiership opposition – and The Otters acquitted themselves well in a fierce cup clash.

In fact led by Alex Jenkins, the away pack more than matched their Swansea counterparts and had the upper hand in the set piece, but the ability of the Premiership side to turn pressure into points ultimately proved the difference.

The All Whites took a 17-0 lead into half time as full back Luke Griffiths landed a penalty, and then added the extras to a try from winger Andrew Claypole.

Before the break centre Mike Evans also cut over for a debut try, Griffiths again adding the extras, leaving Sean Gale’s side facing an uphill task.

But early second half pressure from Narberth led to home hooker Ifan Phillips being yellow carded, and then after a flare up at a scrum Swansea replacement Greg Cunniffe was sent off for throwing a punch at Tom Kaijaks – who impressed alongside Rhodri Owens and Daniel Jacobs in the front row.

And The Otters capitalised as No 10 Ianto Griffiths kicked a penalty into the corner and from the lineout that followed, a driving maul led to an unconverted try for flanker Richard Rees.

But Swansea soon snuffed out any danger of an upset as Phillips returned to the field to get their third try that Griffiths converted.

Back came Narberth again as a good finish from winger Jack Price brought it back to 24-10, but a late Griffiths penalty eventually settled matters.

“We did well today and the score didn’t truly reflect the game,” said Narberth team manager Chris James.

“Our pack was dominant at times especially at the set piece.”

This Saturday, The Otters are back in WRU Championship action at Bedlinog.

Narberth: Nick Gale, Jack Price, Kieran Jones, Jake Jenkins, Will Lewis, Ianto Griffiths, Rhys Lane, Daniel Jacobs, Rhodri Owens, Tom Kaijaks, Ryan Bean, Alex Jenkins (capt), Richard Rees, Andrew Cooke, Steffan Phillips. Replacements: Bradley Davies, Jake Simms, Tom Slater, Tom Powell, Harry Smith, Matthew Morgan, Jonny Morgan, Jonathan Rogers.