Manderwood Pembrokeshire League Division 1: Goodwick United 4-0 Pennar Robins

It was a comfortable for Goodwick United as they kept themselves just a point off leaders Monkton with a win over Pennar at Phoenix Park.

The hosts led 2-0 at the break via goals from Jordan Griffiths and Lee Hudgell, and then Jonny Horgan and the returning Rhys Dalling sealed the win with the latter also missing a late penalty.

From the kick off the home side were in the ascendancy as Horgan flashed a right foot shot wide and Griffiths was narrowly off target with a free kick.

But they still led within 10 minutes when Matty Delaney's pass teed up Griffiths in the area, and the striker turned sharply before firing past Stuart James and into the bottom corner.

The home side then had big calls for a penalty turned down when Horgan went down under a Rhys Griffiths challenge - but after 20 minutes it was 2-0 regardless as Kieran O'Brien floated a ball to the back post and Hudgell headed home.

O'Brien and Griffiths also both had headed chances but missed the target while for Pennar, moments of threat were few and far between although Nick Willis looked lively on the left wing and Thomas Grimwood shot tamely wide from 20 yards.

But home keeper James Gwilt was rarely troubled and the Phoenix Boys continued to push forward after the break, with Horgan's header setting up Griffiths but he was denied by a good save from Stuart James.

But midway through the half it was 3-0, Horgan's square ball tapped home by substitute Dalling.

Horgan himself was then denied after going clean through after a superb tackle back by Dan Kitts, but the winger did get the fourth after good work from Hudgell.

Goodwick were denied a fifth when O'Brien was pushed in the area and Dalling saw his spot kick well saved by James, again impressive in the Pennar goal - but it mattered little to the outcome.

With Monkton in Senior Cup action next week, Goodwick will return top if they can win at home to Clarbie Road.

Goodwick United: James Gwilt, Stefan Hayes, Wayne O'Sullivan, Llyr Tobin, Scott Delaney, Luke Raymond, Kieran O'Brien, Matty Delaney Jonny Horgan, Lee Hudgell, Jordan Griffiths. Subs: Steve Dockerty, James Evans, Rhys Dalling.

Pennar Robins: Stuart James, Josh Clark, Rhys Griffiths, Luke Phillips, Dan Kitts, Connor Roberts, Thomas Grimwood, Nick Willis, Jason Donohue, Sam Southcott, Ben Adams. Subs: Rhys Lucas, Ceri Griffiths, Jack Phillips.

Referee: Helmut Reinhardt.