The first local cup final of the 2018/19 season takes place tonight when Carew 3rds meet the Newport Tigers at the Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium.

The two sides will contest the Fifth Division Cup final with a 7pm kick off.

And both teams came through their semi final ties in dramatic fashion.

Newport, in their first season back after essentially folding a decade ago, beat league champions Tenby 4-3 on spot kicks after the game had finished 2-2 after extra time.

Carew meanwhile, were 4-2 down against Monkton Swifts before scoring twice late on as it finished 4-4 after 120 minutes - and then also prevailed 4-3 on penalties.

It is shaping up to be a close contest as he two sides have met once in the league this season back on September 15th, where a Sam Lewis goal gave The Rooks a 1-0 win.

In the league only two places separate them, with Carew in third place and Newport lying fifth. The Rooks are managed by Sion Jenkins and The Tigers by Matt Lewis.

Sion Jenkins (Carew manager): "It's nice because we ne never expected to get here.

"We beat Johnston 2nds in extra time and then against Monkton in semi final we were 2-0 up, then 4-2 down, and then eventually had extra time and penalties.

"We have a mixture of younger and older boys. Sam Goodwin had about 10 years playing for the first team so that experience helps.

"Newport obviously did well to beat Tenby, a team that had beaten us twice this season. So tonight could go either way."

Geno Cleal (Newport Tigers captain): "It's our first year back so the boys are really happy to be in a final.

"We've got a lot of youngsters who have been really good for us this season. It has been tough to field a consistent squad and we've had players missing for some league games, but overall it has been a good season.

"We have a bus coming up from Newport and Carew will have their supporters there as well - and hopefully a few more from Pembrokeshire football will come down to watch."

Entry is £2 for adults and £1 concessions.

Referee: Bradley Flood.
Assistants: Keith Amos and Neil Crawshaw.