Division Three West A: Milford Haven 53-17 Llangwm

League leaders Milford Haven got their expected bonus point win against Llangwm, but only after being given a scare by the Wasps who battled superbly to lead 17-12 early in the second half.

And they were still bang in the contest at 24-17 down late on before a hat trick of tries from Milford centre Dan Jenkins sealed the win for the Mariners.

The home side wasted an early chance when Jenkins’ midfield partner Dan Birch cut through the Llangwm defence but spilt the ball going over the line, but Nathan Williams’ team were soon in control through two tries from winger Jamie Lewis. Scrum half Dan McClelland converted one of them.

But the Wasps responded in kind with unconverted tries from winger Joey Lewin and No 8 Josh Hicks as they got in the ascendancy up front, went ahead after the break when flanker Rhys Thomas went over for a score that Luke Hayman converted.

It was then the game had to go to uncontested scrums as Milford went down to 14 men, second row Andrew Ling sustaining a head injury after the home side had used all of their subs.

They still finished strongly though as Llangwm tired, and tries from Birch and second row David Round put them ahead, one converted by McClelland – before Jenkins cut loose with that late treble.

The win keeps Milford eight points clear of Aberaeron having played a game more, but it my have come at a cost with Ryan Mansell, Brandon Cooper, Zan France-Miller, Lee Riley and Garin Gardner all joining Ling in picking up knocks over the 80 minutes.

It was Ladies Day at The Obs, and the event doubled up as a charity fund raiser for two important charities – Eliza’s SDR Journey and Ty Hafan. Overall a fantastic £1600 was raised for both charities, and congratulations to all involved.

Milford Haven: Lee Riley, Jamie Lewis, Dan Jenkins, Dan Birch, Dean McSparron, Efan Morgan, Dan McClelland, Zac France-Miller, Luke Ryan, Darren Lewis, Brandon Cooper, David Round, Ben Groves, Ryan Mansell, Mark Wonnacott. Replacements: Ben Jenkins, Chris Hall, Andrew Ling, Garin Gardener, James Trueman.

Llangwm: Ewan Griffiths, Daniel Morgan, Joe Lewis, Louis Murphy, Joey Lewin, Luke Hayman, Ian Griffiths, Will Scrive, Gethin Thomas, Ieuan Power, Ashley James, Dave Reynolds, James Lewis, Rhys Thomas, Josh Hicks. Replacements: Phil Llewellyn, Gavin Jones, Jason Mock, Kieran Barclay, Matty Lewis.