Division Two West: Pontyberem 25-36 Pembroke

It's back to back promotions for Pembroke after they secured a top two finish in Division Two West with a thrilling bonus point win at Pontyberem on Saturday.

Coaches Geraint Lewis and Kyle Davies saw their squad produce a superb display uner pressure against a side who kicked off gunning to go up themselves. 

And it was just reward for all staff and players, who refused to accept simply holding their own in their new league - and the title itself could yet end up at Crickmarren if results go their way on April 27th.

Pontyberem recently beat Pembroke at Crickmarren and led early on here with a Mike Sauro penalty - but the Scarlets hit back with a try from flanker Jack Smyth - who then added a second after being teed up by scrum half Tom Lewis. Both were converted by No 10 Toby Smith.

Then winger Lewys Gibby, playing on permit from Narberth scored a cracking try wide out – with Smith landing the difficult conversion.

That made it 21-3 but Pontyberem crossed with a try by exerienced player-coach Wayne Williams, only for Smith to hammer over a 50 metre penalty.

After the break Pembroke conceded a try to Matthew Lloyd which Sauro converted but a second Gibby try from a Jack Parkinson run made it 29-15 – before nerves jangled as tries by James Rosser and Gwion Jones hauled Pontyberem back to 29-25.

But Pembroke settled matters when centre Dan Colley took a pop pass and dived over from five metres and Smith inevitably converted - and the final whistle sparked big celebrations from players, coaches, and supporters.

It was Gibby who was judged man of the match by Joe Rogers of Deadball Line, but afterwards Lewis hailed a squad effort.

"It was great game and a great day," he said.

"And as coaches we are just so proud of the boys."

The Scarlets can still win the title, but must beat St Clears on April 27th and hope leaders Penclawdd lose, ironically against Pontyberem.

Pembroke: Tom Harding-Jones, Luke Hartland, Dan Colley, Jack Parkinson, Lewys Gibby, Toby Smith, Tom Lewis, Lloyd Davies, Seamus Wiseman, Johnny Palmer, Scott Powell (Capt), Will Edwards, Jack Smyth, Alex Thomas, Sam Smith. Replacements: Dom Colman, Simon Stanford, James Davies, Jordan Gwilliam, Sean Dalling.