Under 17s Mike Fry final: Tenby United 20-3 Whitland

Tenby United’s talented young team lasted the pace better than gritty opponents Whitland in the Mike Fry Cup final at Heywood Lane.

This match was played in quite horrendous weather conditions and both squads deserve every credit for making it an enjoyable contest to watch

And Tenby showed why some of them will be playing at the Principality Stadium against Resolven Youth in the WRU Welsh Bowl Final this Saturday, May 4th.

Leading the way for the Young Seasiders was hooker Matthew Busby, who tackled and fought for loose ball all evening alongside inspirational skipper Rhys Grigg and the back row of Callum Earland, Taran Richards and Jake Thomas.

They took the lead with an unconverted try by winger Joe Andrews after space had been created by halves Cam Broadhurst and Jacob Evans before Oakley Milton and Dylan Johns were involved in midfield.

Whitland fought back through the work rate of Sam Clarke, Dan Bennett and Brandon Williams in cahoots with a tight five which refused to give an inch and were rewarded when they were awarded a penalty and Iolo Rees slotted the only successful kick of the evening.

But hard as they tried, Tristan and Iolo Rees were unable to exert their normal influence and it was Tenby who would have been happier with the narrow interval scoreline.
In the second half the Young Borderers had chances as Cian Williams and Dom Davies probed in midfield – but it was Tenby who turned the game on its head with further tries from centre Oakley Milton, flanker Callum Earland and hooker Busby.

At the end of a match, played with real spirit by both clubs, it was appropriate that Jo Fry, the widow of the late Mike Fry, a great stalwart of Tenby United RFC and junior rugby, presented the trophy to Young Seasiders’ skipper Rhys Grigg. 

She also presented the man of the match trophy to Tenby United’s hooker Matthew Busby.

Tenby United: Carl Thomas, Joe Andrews, Oakley Milton, Dylan Johns, Joshua Done, Cam Broadhurst, Jacob Evans, Max Badham, Matthew Busby, Evan Day, Charlie Sangster, Rhys Grigg, Callum Earland, Taran Richards, Jake Roberts. Replacements: Benjamin Eastwood, Harvey Drummond, Tommie Whalley, Ovidiu Anghel, Morgan Grieve, Henry Lees. Coaches: Richard Rossiter, Leon Godding, Roland Grigg. Team Manager: David Sangster. 

Whitland: Jamie Thomas, Rhys Homfray, Cian Williams, Dom Davies, Ryan Gooding, Iolo Rees, Trystan Rees, Ieuan Barnes, Trystan Bowen, Sam Davies, Rohan Peterson, Tomos Williams, Sam Clarke, Dan Bennett, Brandon Williams. Replacements: Cameron Mills, Harry Banner, Max Jones, Dylan George, Billy Stewart, Joe Chapman, Rhodri Dyer, Meru Hughes, Tom Hawkins, Rhys Tinsley, Owen Palmer. Coaches: Dom Setaro; Phil Morgan Team managers: Claire Rees, Chris Davies

Referee: Jason Summers.
Assistant referees: Charlie Watts and Ian Paddick.