Manderwood Pembrokeshire League Division 2: Kilgetty 2-0 Johnston

It will be top flight football again for Kilgetty next season after they came through their 'do or die' clash with Johnston at Kingsmoor tonight.

Two goals either side of half time from Jordan Gorman proved the difference, and Rob Beynon's side will now join champions Fishguard in going up to Division 1.

They kicked off needing just a point but a defeat would have seen Johnston up at their expense, and the home side started strongly as Ollie Griffiths fired over from close range.

Gorman also had a deflected strike rightly ruled out for off-side before at the other end, Johnston threatened when Joey George's floated free kick found Jake Smith who saw his header palmed away by Kyle Marsh.

The keeper then did brilliantly to rush off his line and bravely deny Scott Crawford with the striker clean through on goal.

Johnston keeper Jim Payne also did well to keep it at 0-0 as he tipped a Griffiths shot over the bar - but then seven minutes before half time came the opener.

Gorman went through one on one with Payne and although the latter blocked his first effort, the winger made no mistake with the rebound.

Still the Tigers should have been level at half time when Ryan Doyle raced clear only to drive a left foot shot against the post.

Just three minutes after the break and Kilgetty were on the brink though. Again Payne was unlucky as he blocked a Henry Lawrence shot from point blank range, but Gorman was on hand to tap in the loose ball.

Needing three goals now to go up, Johnston responded by pouring forward and Dai Sinton blazed over from close range while Crawford also went close with a header.

But with hopes fading for Dean Boswell's men, in the dying moments it was Kilgetty who had another great chance after Ryan Hayward was penalised in his area - but Gorman was denied a hat trick as the impressive Payne saved his penalty.

It mattered little though as Kilgetty secured third place, and therefore the second promotion spot with Merlins Bridge 2nds unable to go up.

The club have not been in the top flight since being relegated in the 2010/11 season.

Kilgetty: Jake Marsh, John Mansbridge, Max James, Brett Evans, Ross Hurst, Tom Mansbridge, Ollie Griffiths, Henry Lawrence, Jordan Gorman, Mike Beynon, Josh Bevan. Subs: Mike Smith, Andrew Evans, Ollie Gamble.

Johnston: Jim Payne, Marcus Allen, Steve Allen, Chris Phillips, Steve Mills, Jake Smith, Scott Murray, Dai Sinton, Joey George, Ryan Doyle, Scott Crawford. Subs: Haydn Smith, Scott Patterson, Ryan Hayward.

Referee: Angus Scourfield.