There were wins for Narberth and Pembroke Dock in the first round of the DR Morris Cup last night.

Narberth went to Kilgetty and posted 191-4.

They were 53-2 after Richard Cope (2-40) removed openers Loui Davies (20) and Richie Adams (6), but then Kyle Quartermaine and Jordan Howell piled on 120 together.

Quartermaine cracked 83 with nine fours and three sixes, before holing out to Toby Poole off Ross Hardy (1-21).

Poole also has Lewis Hough caught by Jack Tucker (0) but Howell continued his early season form to finish 67 not out (eight four and two sixes), and the total looked an imposing one for the 2018 runners up.

And so it proved despite an early blast from opener Hardy, who cracked 52 in a rapid attack that included six sixes, three fours and just four singles.

He was clean bowled though by Ben Hughes and although No 3 Christian Phillips made a more measured half century with 55 (four fours and three sixes), Levi Hughes (15) was the only other batsman to make any impression as the home side ended 158-7.

For Narberth Hughes (3-28) and Hough (2-18) led the bowling.

At Imble Labe, the Dock kept Hook to 146-7 in 20 overs.

Opener Jamie Phelps led the way with 61 as he hit eight fours and two sixes, supported by steady contributions from Matthew Holder (18), Craig Nutty (16), Brennan Martin (21) and Aled Phelps (16 not out).

For the Dock, Nick Daley (1-36), Scott Griffiths (2-25), Niall Brunton and Connor Carroll (both 2-32) took wickets.

Opener Jake Griffiths then blasted the Dock towards their target with six fours and three sixes in his 67, before being caught by Aled Phelps off Holder (1-36).

By that point though he and Luke Murray had put on 85 for the first wicket, and the latter was joined by Billy Wood in moving the score for 132 until Murray went for 35, again caught by Phelps off Harry Makepeace (1-16).

But Wood (26 not out) finished the job as the Dock got home in 15.4 overs.