After the success of the Welsh Schools National Track and Field Championships in Cardiff - it was the turn of school teams to showcase their talent. 

The biggest grass roots competition for secondary schools in the summer term, the NASUWT Cymru Wales Cup and Plate finals, took place at the Penlan Arena Track in Brecon.

The cup competition has been organised each year since 1988 while the Plate final was added in 2007. A total of 36 schools from across the eight districts in Wales qualified to field 62 teams at the final. Each district had one team in the Cup competition and one team in the Plate.

It was split into two sets of age groups - the under 14s for year 7 and 8 pupils and the under 16s for year 9 and 10 pupils.

The winning team in each of the four sections of the Cup Final and the winning team in each of the four sections of the Plate were awarded with the victory shield. All the awards were presented by Gerald Davies, Vice-Chair of Welsh Schools Athletics Association.

With team scores close throughout the day, every single point was important in every position with more than half of the competitions coming down to the very last relay event.

Six schools from the Dyfed district finished in the top two of their respective age groups in the final at Haverfordwest High School and travelled to Brecon looking to compete with the best in the country.

All schools excelled and produced great team efforts, with numerous event wins and top placing finishes.

Ysgol Y Preseli came second in their Cup competition in the under 14 girls, with both schools finishing strongly with a top two finish in the relays.

Competing for the Preseli squad were Megan Cole, Mali Murray, Marged Harries, Lucy Wintle, Ffion Ouseley, Lleucu Lloyd, Elen Hill and Storm Evans.

Haverfordwest High School went in the under 16 girls cup and finished fourth out of the eight teams whilst the first of the Queen Elizabeth High School teams were runners-up in the plate.

Cerys Evans, Lucy Jenkins, Nia Roberts, Meg Thomson, Amy White, Seren James, Lucy Thomas, Ffion Scriven, Jessica Raymond and Carys Jones were in action for Haverfordwest.

Tard to the SIAB Schools International fixture, this year heading to Swansea hosted by Welsh Schools next weekend on Saturday 20th July. The association have selected the team with a strong team expected to compete on home turf.