Division 1: Whitland (199 all out) lost to Saundersfoot (278 for 6) by 79 runs

Centuries for Danny Caine and Tom Mansbridge all but sealed Saundersfoot's top flight survival as the Seasiders beat Whitland on Saturday, leaving their hosts with work still to do.

Put into bat, openers Caine and Mansbridge smashed 207 together in 35 overs, Caine reaching 102 with 16 fours and a six before he was bowled by Geraint Jones.

Mansbridge made 100 (11 fours and two sixes) before he also went to Jones via a good Gethin Scourfield catch.

But by then the damage was done and although Jones (3-61) and Scourfield (3-66) took further wicket, cameos from Nick Cope (20) and Yannic Parker (18) helped take the visitors to a huge total.

Ed John and Adam Davies then took Whitland to 50-0 but Caine broke the deadlock by having Davies (27) caught by Taran Richards after five fours, and after three fours and a six John (23) holed out off the same bowler to Sam Franklin.

No 3 Geraint Jones smashed his usual quick knock with 32 off 20 balls, 26 of which came in boundaries - but he was caught by Franklin off Tom Mansbridge while Caine clean bowled Scourfield (17) to take 3-51 and leave matters at 107-4.

Still Whitland fashioned hope as skipper Mathew Davies and Nathan Evans put on 63, but when the latter fell to Neil Powling via a good Mansbridge catch the lower order collapsed.

It was Powling (3-30) and Cope (3-51) who helped clean things up in the 38th over while Davies remained unbeaten on 45 (five fours).

The Borderers have a 42 point cushion on Burton below them - but this weekend appears crucial as Davies and co go to Tish, and Burton play bottom side Llangwm.

Saundersfoot innings:
Tom Mansbridge ct Gethin Scourfield b Geraint Jones 100
Danny Caine b Geraint Jones 102
Sam Franklin ct Nathan Evans b Geraint Jones 5
Nick Cope ct James Thomas b Gethin Scourfield 20
Jamie Hitchings b Gethin Scourfield 0
John Mansbridge ct Jamie Thomas b Gethin Scourfield 10
Yannic Parker not out 18
James Caine not out 9
Extras: 14.
Total: 278 for 6 wickets in 45 overs.
Bowling: Matthew Davies 12-1-83-0; Geraint Jones 12-1-61-3; Nathan Evans 8-0-44-0; Gethin Scourfield 10-0-66-3; Jamie Thomas 3-0-22-0.

Whitland innings:
Edward John ct Sam Franklin b Danny Caine 23
Adam Davies ct Taran Richards b Danny Caine 27
Geraint Jones ct Tom Mansbridge b Sam Franklin 32
Gethin Scourfield b Danny Caine 17
Matthew Davies not out 45
Nathan Evans ct Tom Mansbridge b Neil Powling 26
Martin Thomas ct John Mansbridge b Nick Cope
Jamie Thomas lbw b Nick Cope 4
Jacob Owen b Nick Cope 2
James Thomas ct Tom Mansbridge    b Neil Powling 0
Rob Owen ct Yannic Parker b Neil Powling 11
Extras: 12
Total: 199 all out in 37.5 overs.    
Bowling: Danny Caine 8-1-51-3; Sam Franklin 10-0-57-1; Nick Cope 11-0-51-3; Neil Powling 8.5-2-30-3.

Umpires: Gareth Brace and Richard Scriven.
Scorers: Ann-Marie-Jenkins and Adge John.