FAW Welsh Cup – Round 2

Haverfordwest County 1

Cambrian & Clydach 2

A goal in each half from Cameron Keetch and Sam Johnson secured a thoroughly deserved victory for Cambrian & Clydach who unceremoniously dumped Haverfordwest County out of the FAW Welsh Cup.

It was no more than what the visitors deserved because overall, they were the better side, they were far quicker and slicker against the jaded looking Bluebirds.

However, the hosts should have scored twice in the first period as both Ben Fawcett and Jack Wilson missed glorious chances to open The Bluebirds’ account.

However, five minutes before the break it was Cambrian and Clydach who opened the scoring, some excellent inter play down the left saw Keetch finish clinically at the second time of asking.

Ten minutes after the break and the visitors doubled the lead with a three-pass movement which caught the Bluebirds defence napping, Keetch found Camillo Strinatti and he threaded a superb through ball to lively striker Johnson who finished clinically past Steven Hall.

Ten minutes from the full time and Wilson donned the goalkeeper’s jersey as Hall went off with leg injury and assistant boss Tim Hicks came on as a replacement.

Right at the death Marcus Griffiths pulled one back as he latched onto Fawcett’s clever flick inside the box and lifted the ball past Daniel Bradley, but it was a classic case of too little too late!

Haverfordwest County manager confessed shortly after the cup tie: “It was a really bad day at the office.

“No excuses we were poor, we missed a couple of decent chances in the first half and they came back to bite us.”

Next Saturday, November 16, Haverfordwest County return to league action at home against Llantwit Major, kick off is at 2.30pm.

Haverfordwest County: Steven Hall, Miles John, Jake Merry, Sean Pemberton (Captain), Scott Tancock, Kieran Howard, Ricky Watts, Kurtis Rees, Jack Wilson, Ben Fawcett, Marcus Griffiths.

Substitutes: Harri Rowe, Daniel Alfei, Tim Hicks.

Cambrian & Clydach: Daniel Bradley, Josh Owen, Cameron Keetch, Connor Young, Keiron Coles, Andre Griffiths, Camillo Strinati, Corey Shephard, Sam Johnson, Leon Jacka, Liam Reed.

Substitutes: Kyle Jones, Lloyd Davies, Liam Edwards, Mark Crutch.

Referee: Ben Williams.

Assistants: Tom Bateman & Cilan Thomas.