Division Three West A: Haverfordwest 7-10 Lampeter Town

Lampeter stayed top of the table as they fended off Haverfordwest at Pembroke Road – a disappointing result for The Blues as they had their chances to win against a visiting team missing several key players.

But they showed real resistance despite an obvious deficiency in the front row but had terrific performances from the back row of Dai Holmes, Rob Morgan and especially Jamie Edwards.

The Blues looked in charge in the opening quarter but Mikey Jones was off-target with two penalties and wrong options cost them dear alongside the fact they were penalised regularly by young referee Aled Jones (Carmarthen).

Lampeter battled hard and used their wind advantage for half backs Huw Thomas and Osian Jones to kick for territory – and it was Jones who finally put them ahead with a well-struck penalty just before half time.

But with the better of the elements afterwards it was expected Haverfordwest might take control but they were rocked by a mazy run by Lampeter winger Ryan Dowty, which set up the platform for for a series of drives which saw Edwards crash over. Osian Jones added the extras points and suddenly The Blues were up against it.

But their cause wasn’t helped by some aimless kicking and reluctance to spread play wide – as Unaia Balekinasiga and Jack Evans were starved of ball.

Some excellent play by Jack Clancy raised the tempo as he set Tom Carrington thundering away before Balekinasiga was held up short, and Jack Evans eventually crossed in the corner for Jones to superbly convert and set up a grandstand finish.

From the final move of the match it looked as if The Blues might still snatch it from a quickly-taken penalty but Evans’ dart for the corner was blocked by the excellent Lampeter cover.

So the credits have to go to the visitors and The Blues had to settle for a losing bonus point, which was disappointing in the circumstances.

Haverfordwest: Rhys Baker, Jake Evans, Unaia Balekinasiga, Craig Barnett, Jack Evans, Mike Jones, Elgan Roberts, Terry Lovell, Jamie Zambass, Tom Carrington, Ashley James, Jack Clancy, Geraint Sargent, Matty Phillips (capt), Ashley George. Replacements: Jon Mason, Lee Summons, Jon Mason, Gareth John, Joshua Watters.

Lampeter Town: Emyr Richard, Ryan Dowty, Gareth Griffiths, Lyn Jones, Iwan Bowden, Osian Jones, Huw Thomas, Morgan Lewis, Jon Heath, Aled Bowen, Darryl Davies (Capt), Dai Heath, Rob Morgan, Jamie Edwards. Replacements: Sion Williams, Morgan James, Rhodri Williams,Owain Jones.