Division Three West A: Haverfordwest 69-0 St Davids

Haverfordwest warmed up for their crunch clash in Laugharne next week with 11 tries against St Davids in a win that took The Blues back up to second in the table.

They had to endure a frustrating first quarter where the away pack kept possession well while Steve Barnett’s side were guilty of trying to play too much in heavy conditions, but after The Saints failed to clear their lines home second row Rhydian Watkins got things going with a powerful run to the line.

Second row partner Karl Busch got the second score after a break from centre Craig Barnett and then left winger Steve Thomas finished well in the corner for the third.

The home side sealed the bonus point before the break via skipper Matty Phillips and then a powerful scrum shove led to No 9 Lee Summons also touching down.

His half back partner Mike Jones added three conversions to make it 31-0 half time.

Thomas opened the second half scoring as The Blues began to go wide at every opportunity and Barnett, second row Liam Brown, dynamic young centre Jack Evans, and Phillips again added more tries – with Barnett adding three conversions having taken over the kicking duties.

For The Saints player coach Gethin Bateman and No 8 Anthony ‘Ianto’ Davies, still going strong at 51, were outstanding as they fought to the final whistle but despite some close range lineouts the visitors failed to get a late consolation score.

The Blues had the final word when centre Evans rounded off a long range attack for his second try and Barnett converted to round off a 69-0 win.

Haverfordwest: Rhys Baker, Callum John, Jack Evans, Craig Barnett, Steve Thomas, Mike Jones, Lee Summons, Ben Llewellyn, Jamie Zambass, Tom Carrington, Karl Busch, Rhydian Watkins, Geraint Sargent, Matty Phillips (capt), Liam Brown. Replacements: Graham Jenkins, Gareth John, Paul Thomas, Jack Clancy, Archie Thomas.

St Davids: Luke Brooks, Paul Clayton, Lee Phillips, Rhys Meredith-Barrett, Fraser Watson, Owain Beynon, Stephen Smith, Will Davies, Mikey Matthews, Dan Murphy, Dan Jenkins, Alex Richmond, Gethin Bateman, Rhys Price, Gethin Bateman. Replacements: Jack Crimlis, Steve Griffiths, Ashley Shearer.