Pembrokeshire Youth Cup (preliminary round): Fishguard & Goodwick 8-39 Tenby United 

Fishguard & Goodwick Youth took on their counterparts from Tenby United at The Moors and both teams played some good running to defy the strong wind blowing directly down the pitch.

In the final analysis the Seasiders’ greater experience and strength told as they ran in six tries, three in each half, against one from The Seagulls, with a 17-8 advantage at half time a real boost because they had defended well against the elements but limited their opposition to a try by busy scrum half Max Jones alongside a Creegan Foot penalty.

Fishguard also lost Sol Almond with an ankle injury which was an unfortunate way for the young flanker to celebrate his 18th birthday!

For The Seasiders, there were tries by winger Dylan John, back rower Jake Roberts and second row Lewis Catt as Jack Gooding, Oakley Milton, and Joe Owen featured in defence and attack.

Influential No 10 Morgan Grieve slotted one conversion, as he did in the second half when other tries came from scrum half Cam Broadhurst (2) and winger Joe Andrews, who might have had a second score from a long-range strike but was denied by a last-ditch cover tackle from home centre Owen Swain, who was nominated as man of the match by coaches Dilwyn Williams, Alan Phillips and Steve Jones.

The Seasiders had other chances but good work from Jack Phillips, Iwan McVeigh, Tom Lewis and Vaughan Batty were instrumental in keeping them out, despite the attacking play of a strong Tenby outfit which looked sharp and was praised by their coaches Richard Rossiter and Guto Griffiths – but who also nominated opposing centre Owen Swain as the best player on view.

Fishguard & Goodwick: Jo Dunn: Tom Lewis; Owen Swain; Creegan Foot; Osian Field: Aled Lewis; Max Jones: Iwan McVeigh; Ioan Davies; Osian Perkins: Sam Rummery; Jack Phillips: Ieuan Morris; Sol Almond; Vaughan Batty. Replacements: Cameron Sapsford; Dylan Hughes; Kyran Owen; Dafis Osians.

Tenby United: Joe Owen: Dylan John; Oakley Milton; Jack Gooding; Joe Andrews: Morgan Grieve; Cam Broadhurst: Euan Day; Tommie Whalley; Max Badham: Rhys Grigg; Lewis Catt: Charlie Sangster; Jake Roberts; Callum Earland. Replacements: Taran Richards; Ryan Bolton; Ollie Brown.

Referee: Paddy Byrne.