Harrison-Allen Bowl quarter final: Carew (145-9) lost to Neyland (152-7) by 7 runs

IT went down to the wire at Carew as Neyland recovered from a bad start to beat their hosts by 7 runs.

Put in to bat, Neyland were rocked back in the second over as Shaun Whitfield bowled Patrick Bellerby and trapped Nick Koomen LBW to leave them 5-2.

Ashley Sutton reacted with three quickfire sixes but when he reached 31, he became Whitfield’s third victim after being caught by Sion Jenkins at mid wicket.

Nathan Banner also struck a maximum before giving a return catch to Iori Hicks when on 17 - but then Ross Hardy and Brad McDermott-Jenkins took the score past three figures.

The latter made 17 before being bowled by James Hinchcliffe but it was Hardy who turned the tide, hammering 47 (two fours and three sixes) before holing out to Ceri Brace off Whitfield.

The pace man also clean bowled Henry Durrant (11) to take 5-28, before skipper Sean Hannon (9 not out) and Scott Jones (8 not out) took the total to 152-5.

The Carew reply also started badly as Banner trapped Gareth Lewis in front without scoring, and then took the catch to help Durrant remove Ian Sefton (8).

But Tim Hicks and Whitfield rebuilt matters and took matters to 76-2 -but as so often Andrew Miller had an effect as he had the latter caught behind for 22 (two fours).

Hicks survived being dropped on the boundary as he struck four fours and a maximum but when he fell on 49, Carew were 90-4 and needed 62 runs in six overs.

A frantic finale followed in which Miller finished with 3-38, Banner 2-37, Durrant 1-11 and McDermott-Jenkins 2-35 - but Nick Davies kept the home side in it with three sixes in his 32 before falling with nine balls to go.

It meant a final over where Carew needed 13 for victory with two wickets in hand, and the responsibility with the ball fell to Hardy. He kept his nerve and after McDermott-Jenkins ran out Jenkins, the all rounder clean bowled Hinchcliffe to seal a 7 run win.

Umpires: Steve Blowes and Nigel Richards.
Scorers: Julie Davies and John Laugharne.