LLANRHIAN, Hundleton, and Neyland C contested the latest games in the Pembrokeshire Indoor Cricket League on Saturday, November 28, – and it was The Cows who came away with two wins to climb into the top half of the table.

Game 1: Llanrhian (111-2) beat Hundleton (87-2) by 34 runs

The first game of the day saw Llanrhian play Hundleton – and to the credit of Jonathan Williams and co they turned up ready despite late withdrawals due to work commitments.

But it was The Cows who started solidly as openers Iwan James and Jack Jones both passed 25 before having to retire, and then Richard Reed and Karl Davies continued the good work.

Reed hit two back wall boundaries to reach 24 before hitting a full toss off Paul Fox straight into the hands of Chris Stapleton – who had come in at the last minute after originally being originally scheduled to umpire.

Karl Davies also made 25 and Rhys Price chipped in with 6 not out at the end as Llanrhian finished on 111-2.

Hundleton’s reply started slowly but they eventually worked their way to 87-2, with Williams (28) and Fox (27 not out) top scoring as Davies and Llion Williams took the wickets.

Game 2: Llanrhian (98-5) beat Neyland C (96 all out) by 2 runs

Run outs dominated the clash between Llanrhian and Neyland C – but it was Jack Jones’ side who prevailed by 2 runs in a thrilling finish.

Again The Cows batted first and made 98-5 – and that was despite three run outs as Rhys Price (19), Iwan James (17) and Jack Jones (19) all made starts.

But Neyland also faltered with their running between the wickets, suffering a couple of run outs themselves after Callum Power retired on 25 and Rhys Power made 22.

It was Callum who then retuned at the death and hammered his way to 57, but with his side just 3 runs short of victory he was also caught out of his ground as Llanrhian got home with just 2 runs in hand.

Game 3: Neyland C (108-0) beat Hundleton (76-5) by 32 runs

The hosts however, bounced back in the final game.

They didn’t lose a single wicket in their total of 108-0 as Rhys Power (26), Sam Laugharne (28), Callum Power (29) and Ban Mathias-Milson (21) all finished undefeated.

It was Williams who led the Hundleton reply with a defiant 27, and Stapleton rolled back the years with a defiant 16 not out.

But they were plagued by two run outs and Laugharne (2) and Mathias-Milsom (1) also took wickets as Neyland C got their first win of the season.

Umpires: Steve Williams and Ian Milsom. Report by Fraser Watson