LLANRHIAN were able to celebrate a hat-trick of wins after the Alan Brown Cup final.

In wet conditions and after a much-delayed start, Llanrhian beat Stackpole by 5 wickets, making 281 in their two innings (179 for 2 and 102 for 5), against Stackpole’s 280 (165 for 6 and 115 for 7).

Jonathan Strawbridge’s 97, made in Llanrhian’s first innings, was the major difference between the sides and helped hand Llanrhian victory.

Strawbridge was rightly awarded man of the match, particularly for his contribution with the bat.

His performance, along with his team’s resilience in heavy conditions, allowed Nigel Delaney – who himself put in a big effort with the ball - to lift the trophy.

Stackpole batted first and got off to the worst possible start with both their openers, Alan Webster and John Williams, making ducks.

It was Lewys Gibby who steadied the ship making 80 - with 12 fours and a six – before being stumped by Richard Reed off the bowling of Tom Clarke - who took two vital wickets in Stackpole’s opening innings.

Stackpole’s middle order rallied with James Adie making 32 and Yori Roberts 26 to help their side reach a commendable 165.

Llanrhian were able to surpass this total by 14, making 179 at a loss of just two wickets.

It was here that Strawbridge shined, making 97 (8 fours and 3 sixes), before being caught in the deep by James Adie off the bowling of Simon Bevan.

Paul Lewis made 38 before being caught by Williams off Webster.

Llanrhian weren’t troubled for the rest of their first innings, Jack Jones and Nigel Delaney remaining in bat to make 24no and 11no.

Stackpole’s second innings hit disaster again for opener Williams, who got his second duck of the day.

Stackpole’s opening three scored 8 between them (Webster (3), Williams (0) and Gibby (5), before Adie took the fight to Llanrhian making 63. Adie's tremendous efforts were eventually ended by the bowling of Delaney and the wicket work of Reed.

Despite Adie's efforts, Stackpole only made 115 in their second innings, Roberts making the second biggest contribution with 10.

Even though Stackpole took five wickets in Llanrhian’s second innings, the eventual champions won with a comfortable margin, five overs and five wickets still in hand. Scorers: Paul Lewis (27), Nigel Delaney (19), Chris Arundel (11no), Tom Clarke (8no), Strawbridge (7), Jack Jones (5), Richard Reed (1).