Lawrenny under 15s are the Pembroke County Cricke Under 15's junior league champions after beating Whitland in the final.

In a high qulaity and pulsating final Lawrenny came out on top by 5 wickets, successfully chasing down Whitland's score of 66.

Match report by Martin Jones

Lawrenny (67-5) beat Whitland (66-7) by 5 wickets

This years final was between the top two sides, from the the two Zones, both with 100% records.

Lawrenny made it after beating Kilgetty in one semi-final and Whitland beat Pembroke Dock in the other.

Luc Owen, captain of Whitland, won the toss against his counterpart Finley Lewis of Lawrenny, and chose to bat.

Oscar Lewis and Rhydian Eynon opened the bowling for Lawrenny, with Oscar picking the wicket of Ethan Ryan in the third over.

Rhys Jones (15)and Luc Owen then formed a useful partnership moving the score onto 51 until the fifteenth over when Luc had to retire on 38.

Ethan (0-11) and Corey Hall (0-11) together with Rhys Eynon (0-12) had kept things as tight as possible.

It was in the sixteenth over that Lewis (3-7) struck, with an excellent hat trick.

There was then a fine piece of fielding by Rhys Eynon with a direct hit to claim another wicket to remove the Whitland middle order.

Noah Williams (0-12) and the returning Oscar Lewis (3-9) picked up a further two wickets aided by a stumping from Will Allen which saw Whitland finish on 66- 7.

It had been a tight spell of bowling by the Lawrenny team only conceding 5 extras which would prove decisive at the end of the day.

Lawrenny knew they needed a good start in bat and that's exactly what they got.

A very tight spell of bowling by Owen (1-3) picking the dangerous Will Allen and Charlie Bujega (0-10) followed by Ethan Ryan, Cian Rees and Freddy Davies, who kept picking up wickets on a regular basis, this together with another good piece of fielding by Cian Rees meant that at 15 overs Whitland had scored 53 compared to 51 in the first innings.

It was at this time the experienced Finley Lewis (27not out ), who was still at the crease, increased the tempo. This together with Mr extras (18) saw Noah Williams hit the final runs to get Lawrenny over the line.

This was one of the closest finals for a number of years with both sides bowling very well backed up in the field by their respective teams and two good wicket keepers in Will Allen and Daniel Howells.

In the presentation after the match, Martin Jones ( Junior Organiser) congratulated both sides on reaching the final with some excellent play by both enjoyed by a large supportive crowd.

Coaches Rob and Mark Lee also deserve great praise for their efforts.

Martin also thanked St Ishmaels for hosting the final, including Mel Williams who prepared the ground. Wendy Bradshaw and Pat Williams with Chris Bradshaw on the BBQ as normal provided excellent refreshments for the player and spectators

The umpires Allan Hansen and Jon Willington and the scorers Rob Williams and Darren Bujega all contributed to the evenings entertainment.

Last and by no means least Martin thanked sponsors Colin John Llewelyn Davies and Co Chartered Accountants for his continued and valuable support of junior cricket in the county. It was also great to see Richard Merriman county chairman and his wife Linda together with Nick Evans County president in attendance .

The winning trophy, now in its 47th year, donated by the family of the late Stan Richards and John Bowen looked a picture.

It was great to see Georgina Morgan, daughter of John whose grandson Ollie Rees presented the winning trophy, with Colin John presenting the medals to Lawrenny.

County chairman Richard presented the runners up cup donated by Martin and Yvonne Jones together with the medals to Whitland

Lawrenny - Finley Lewis, Will Allen, Noah Williams, Rhydian Eynon, Rhys Eynon, Corey Hall, Ethan Hall, Oscar Lewis, Lilly Buckle, Taylor Lewis, Fletcher Broadhurst, Mark White and Ioan Mutter.

Whitland - Luc Owen, Daniel Howells, Ethan Ryan, Rhys Jones, Charlie Bujega, Freddy Davies, Cian Rees, Cai Lewis, Dafydd James, Ryan Windsor, Luca Jones, Joel Evans