THERE will be a guaranteed shake up at County Hall as a number of long-serving councillors – including two cabinet members - have confirmed they are not standing May’s elections.

The build up to 2017’s Local Government election began this week and there is likely to be a significant turnover of councillors in Pembrokeshire.

The Western Telegraph contacted all incumbent councillors and asked if they intended to stand and fight for their seats or not.

Confirmed as not facing the public vote is Amroth’s Tony Brinsden, who was this year’s chairman of Pembrokeshire County Council.

Independent Plus Group members not standing are Haverfordwest Prendergast’s Mark Edwards, John Allen-Mirehouse for Hundleton, Llanrhian’s David Rees, Narberth’s Wynne Evans, and Lyn Jenkins of Solva, who was elected in the last election.

Independent Plus Group Cabinet members Sue Perkins of Pembroke Dock Llanion and Alison Lee, Pembroke Dock Central, will not try for re-election in May.

Pembrokeshire Alliance member Peter Stock of Haverfordwest Portfield is also not standing this year, after more than 40 years as a councillor. The two other group members, Bob Kilmister and Jonathan Nutting, will seek re-election.

Those confirmed as standing include Independent Plus Group’s current leader Jamie Adams, David Neale, John Davies, Keith Lewis, Myles Pepper, Lyndon Frayling, Ken Rowlands, David Pugh, Tom Richards, Michael John, Rob Lewis, Umelda Havard, Elwyn Morse, Brian Hall, Pearl Llewllyn, Daphne Bush, Steve Yelland, Owen James, David James, Reg Owens and Peter Morgan.

Plaid Cymru’s Rhys Sinnett, Michael Williams, Jonathan Preston and Rod Bowen all intend to stand.

Conservative councillors David Bryan of Haverfordwest Priory, Stanley Hudson and Wiston’s David Howlett will be asking for their constituent’s votes.

Labour’s Gwilym Price, Tom Tudor, Guy Woodham, Paul Miller and Tony Wilcox are standing.

Those members unaffiliated with any political group who have confirmed their intention to stand are Jacob Williams, David Simpson, Tessa Hodgson, Stephen Joseph, Mike Stoddart, Viv Stoddart, Pat Davies and St Davids’ David Lloyd.

Two councillors have yet to make their decision - Burton’s Rob Summons and Manorbier’s Phil Kidney.

Huw George, Arwyn Williams, Phil Baker, Mike Evans and Simon Hancock had not responded by the time the Western Telegraph went to press.

* Many areas will face a ballot box battle this year, if you are standing send your name, a photo, where you are standing and election statement of no more than 200 words to for publication online.

* Rob Summons has now confirmed his intention to stand.