Camrose councillor Jamie Adams was officially elected as leader of Pembrokeshire County Council this morning (Thursday).

At the AGM of the new council, Havens councillor and former British Lions rugby player Peter Morgan was made chairman of Pembrokeshire County Council with Cllr Arwyn Williams voted in as vice chairman.

Following the meeting Cllr Adams' new Cabinet was announced - including one Labour member and one councillor who has decided to leave the Labour group.

The ten member cabinet includes Cllr Sue Perkins who becomes member for Safeguarding and Children's Services.

She is one of four new faces on the executive group along with former chairman Cllr David Pugh for Economy, Tourism and Communities, Cllr Elwyn Morse for Culture, Sport and Leisure and Cllr Simon Hancock will handle the portfolio for Adult Services and Equalities.

Cllr Hancock, a Labour group member for 17 years who was returned unopposed as a Labour candidate, told the Western Telegraph he had left the group because he opposed the signing of a contract devised by the national Labour party.

"The main issue is I'm against the candidate's contract all group members sign. The only contract I undertake is the contract of the people who elected me."

He added that the national contract was "quite onerous" and would micromanage members, which he said was unnecessary.

"I haven't changed my principles or policies," added Cllr Hancock.

Besides Councillor Adams - who also holds the brief on Corporate Matters and Finance – the five other Members of the Cabinet are: Councillors Rob Lewis, Huw George, Ken Rowlands, David Simpson and David Wildman.

Councillor Lewis (Martletwy) takes over Highways and Planning – the role vacated by Councillor Adams – while Councillor George keeps Education and the Welsh Language.

Both have also been appointed Deputy Leaders.

Councillor Rowlands (Johnston) retains responsibility for the Environment and Regulatory Services as does Councillor Simpson (Lampeter Velfrey) for Housing and Sustainability. Likewise, Councillor Wildman (Burton) keeps Health, Well-Being and the Voluntary Sector.

A Notice of Motion to increase the number of members on the Planning and Rights of Way Committee and the four Overview and Scrutiny Committees to 15 was approved with an amendment that creates a fifth scrutiny committee overseeing child safeguarding.

The amendment was put forward by Cllr Adams and was questioned by Cllr Mike Stoddart who said it was more than an amendment and actually a constitutional change.

Cllr Stoddart also put forward his own amendment that the number of members of the Corporate Governance, Senior Staff, Democratic Services and Audit Committees increase by one so that the number of unaffiliated members was reflected.

This was not approved.