LONG serving Labour MP Nick Ainger has lost his seat to the Conservatives.

Mr Ainger, who had served as the constituency MP for South Pembrokeshire for 18 years, lost in the poll to Simon Hart.

Mr Ainger said: "It has been a huge honour and a privilege to represent this constituency.

"It is a wonderful part of the world, as you all know, and we all love it.

"I think in the last 13 years we have seen a transformation in our local economy and we have seen many jobs created, partnerships with local government, the Assembly Government, Government and Europe that have brought prosperity to this area.

"I feel if the incoming governement gets that partnership wrong, then the people of this area will suffer in the same way that they did in the early 80s and 90s.

"It was a great privilege to represent this area and I am very grateful that I was able to do some good in that time."

Mr Ainger has served South Pembrokeshire for 18 years, and West Camarthen for 13 years, since a change in the constituency boundaries.

Mr Hart paid tribute to Mr Ainger and his work in the last 18 years.

He said: "It would be churlish of me not to mention Nick Ainger's long and significant service as our MP. He has never been the enemy, but opposition.

"If I do a job half as well as he has done, I will consider I have made a good impact. I wish him well."

Mr Hart, who has been Chief Executive of the Countryside Alliance and previously worked as a chartered surveyor in Carmarthen and Haverfordwest, praised his fantastic campaign team.

"There is no greater challenge, and no greater honour than being asked to represent you in parliament and I'll do my level best, and I will start this very minute, to do justice to the job you have given me."

The full results for the Camarthen West and Pembrokeshire South Constituency were:

  • Nick Ainger (Labour) 13,226
  • Ray Clarke (UKIP) 1,146
  • John Dixon (Plaid Cymru) 4,232
  • John Gossage (Liberal Democrat) 4,890
  • Simon Hart (Conservative) 16,649
  • Hentry Langen (Independent Democrat) 364

Provisional figures show a turnout of 69%. The result was declared by returning officer Bryn Parry Jones at 3.50am.