Haverfordwest (141 all out) drew with Narberth (134 for 8)

Haverfordwest and Narberth fought in a tense finale to their match on the Racecourse before Narberth had to settle for a draw as they ended up seven runs short of the Town’s target, with only two wickets left.

Haverfordwest looked likely to reach a higher tally than their 141 all out.

It was a slow start before Danny Potter and Ben Field advanced the score to 96 for 1 on a slow pitch.

But then Matthew Johns’ slow stuff had the Town batsmen in all sorts of trouble after he had trapped Ben Field lbw for 39 (three fours), supported by teenage pace man Jordan Howell, who finished up with 2 for 20.

Johns claimed 5 for 43 and Ben Hughes finished on 1 for 12 as Potter’s 61 (five fours and two big sixes) helped The Town to 141 all out before they were dismissed in their final over.

Narberth lost Marc Hughes early but Richie Adams (22), Mike Scale (22), Jordan Howell (14) and Wayne Howells (12) kept the scoreboard ticking over— but no-one from either side was able to take the game by the scruff of the neck.

Adam James (3 for 37), Nigel Morgan (2 for 14) and Clive Tucker (3 for 26) claimed wickets at regular intervals and in the final analysis perhaps a draw was the fairest result.

Umpires: Huw Davies and Allan Hansen.

Scorers: Jayne Cole and Peter Hughes.