Neyland (234 for 8) drew with Whitland (186 for 9)

NEYLAND were extremely disappointed that they failed to winkle out the last two Whitland batsmen in their high-scoring match at the Athletic Ground but then news filtered through that nearest challengers Haverfordwest had been thumped at Carew so Gregg Millers Men actually increased their lead at the top of the table to 38 points

But they could still look at the fact that had they shifted Whitland's Tail-end Charlies Mark Lee and Scott Newton in the final four overs of the game they might actually have put their quest for the title beyond all reasonable doubt.

Neyland started impressively through Paul Murray and Gregg Miller before the latter departed for 31, with Ashley Sutton Four fours in his 50) replacing the Neyland skipper and sharing a stand of 92 with Paul Murray, who topped the Neyland batting chart with 11 fours to his name before he was out for 75.

Nathan Banner also contributed 34 against Dan James (1 for 28), Jonathan Thomas (3 for 69), Mark Lee (1 for 48) and Scott Newton (2 for 58) as the current league leaders finished their 45 overs on a challenging 234 for 8.

Steffan James (62) and Paul Davies (48) led the Whitland counter attack but only Ed John and Iestyn Scourfield, with 14 apiece, managed double figures outside this pair and with Nathan Banner (4 for 32), Nick Koomen (1 for 39) and Andrew Miller (2 for 44) among the wickets, Whitland did well to get so close in the final analysis.

*Neyland were sponsored by Scott John.

Umpires: Rob Cousins and Peter Perry.

Scorers: John Laugharne and Janice Brick.