Pembroke County Cricket Club Division One reports:

Burton (239 for 5) lost to Cresselly (242 for 6) by 4 wickets

There were runs galore at Oatfield Park, where Burton belted 239 runs for five wickets as Toby Hayman celebrated a terrific ton but Cresselly were up for the chase as Dan Cherry stroked an undefeated century and Ryan Lewis produced another big-hitting performance with seven sixes in his 63 not out made from only 25 balls.

After electing to bat first, Burton lost key recent run-maker Robbie Neill and were without key batsmen Morgan Scale and skipper Richard Jones at a wedding – but Toby Hayman and Jonathan Venables shared a three-figure, third wicket stand as Venables gave excellent support with his 62 (eight fours) whilst Hayman marched to 116, with nine fours and seven sixes to his credit before he was stumped by Neilson Cole off Sion Jenkins’ bowling.

Jack Davies also chipped in with 20 as Dan James (1 for 32), Jenkins (2 for 28), Dan Cherry (1 for 35) and Simon Cole (1 for 32) were the successful Cresselly bowlers.

Iwan Izzard (16) and Simon Cole (40) scored early runs for Cresselly but although there was some useful bowling by James Scale, Dan Llewellyn and Jack Davies, with a wicket apiece alongside James Davies’s 3 for 55, it was Cherry and Lewis who stole the show as they guided Cresselly into second spot in the table with nine balls still in hand.

Umpires: Allan Hansen & Richard Scriven.

Scorers: Dennis Venables & Teagan Cartwright.

Lawrenny (51 for 1) beat Johnston (47 all out) by 9 wickets

The shortest game of the day in the upper echelons of league cricket undoubtedly came at Lawrenny as visitors Johnston elected to bat first, were shot out for a paltry 47 before the home side lost just one wicket in reaching such a lowly target.

Only Chris Goodridge (14) managed double figures for the visitors against sprightly bowling from Rob Williams (5 for 26) and Jamie Lewis (4 for 19) before Ryan Morton wrapped things up in his only over.

Liam James removed Steve Campbell for 13 in his 1 for 7 analysis but Harry Thomas (24 not out) and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (10 not out) saw Lawrenny home to what is sure to be their easiest victory of the season as the teams were in the bar by 4pm!

Umpires: John Williams & Denis Chiffi.

Scorers: Malcolm Thomas & Gracie Morris.

Kilgetty (95 all out) lost to Neyland (99 for 1) by 9 wickets

Kilgetty had six of their players away with a stage party and paid the obvious price as they won the toss, batted first and went down to defeat by nine wickets against divisional leaders Neyland.

Kilgetty could only manage 95 all out in the 31st over and all but ten of these were shared by Dafydd Bowen (40) and skipper Ross Hardy, whose blistering 45 included five sixes and two fours before he fell to a stunning Nick Koomen catch which helped Geraint Rees to a 3 for 5 haul alongside Henry Durrant’s superb 5 for 8 and Patrick Hannon’s 2 for 16.

Neyland openers Paul Murray and Koomen shared a partnership of 77 before Koomen departed for 40 (seven fours) to Anthony Lewis (1 for 19) and left it to Murray (six fours and a six in his undefeated 36) and Gregg Miller (17 not out) to seal another good win for Sean Hannon’s team.

Umpires: Dave Bonner & Mervyn John.

Scorers: Hazel Poole and John Laugharne.

St Ishmaels (221 for 9) drew with Llangwm (234 all out)

There was a tense finale to the match between St Ishmaels and Llangwm as the home side managed to hold on for the draw with their last pair still at the crease after an unsuccessful chase saw them still 14 runs short of victory.

Llangwm again batted sensibly to reach their strong score of 234 all out with only five balls of their allotted 45 overs left as man of the match Chris Inward led the assault on the Tish bowling with nine fours and four sixes in his excellent 86, supported by Richard Brock (52, including eight fours and two sixes), Noah Davies (21) and Iwan Griffiths (15), plus Phil Llewellyn and skipper Ollie Davies (both 14)

Andrew Palmer (3 for 46), Andrew Williams (1 for 40), Andrew Pawlett 4-74 and Robbie Thomas (2 for 33) were the successful Tish bowlers as Llangwm made them toil in the field.

For Tish, there were useful innings by Dan Howells (55), Peter Bradshaw (45), Andrew Williams 39 and Phil Cockburn (34) but they lost wickets at key times to Ollie Davies (1 for 42), Noah Davies (1 for 68), Phil Llewelyn 93 for 25) and Chris Inward (3 for 62) and in the final analysis perhaps a winning draw for Llangwm was a fair result.

Umpires: Arthur Brady & Richard Merriman.

Scorers: Wendy Bradshaw and Janice Brick.

Whitland (149 for 6) beat Haverfordwest (146 all out) by 4 wickets

An unbroken seventh-wicket stand of 64 between Matthew Davies and skipper Iestyn Scourfield saw Whitland home to victory against a Haverfordwest team enduring a miserable week as they followed their Harrison-Allen Bowl defeat with this first league set-back in an absorbing clash.

The Town were without key run-maker Simon Holliday but Ben Field returned to something like top form with his 41 runs a key part of their reaching 100 for the loss of 6 wickets before contributions by Sanjaya Gurong (19), Nitin Mathias (14) and Archie Thomas (14) took them to 146 all out, less than they might have hoped on a Whitland pitch that looked a picture.

But with Johnny White looking in fine fettle for The Town as he claimed 4 for 41 alongside Adam James (2 for 47) the home side were reduced to 82 for 6 (Geraint Jones 17 and Nathan Evans 23) and it was very much a case of ‘game on’.

But with both running really well between the wickets and punishing the loose delivery they sped to their target in only 26.2 overs as Davies ended up on 36 not out and Scourfield was unbeaten on 34.

Umpires: Les Hastings & Tony Waldeis.

Scorers: Ann-Marie Jenkins & Jayne Cole.