Division 1: Cresselly (262-7) lost to Whitland (265-3) by 7 wickets

A wonderful knock of 150 in just 74 balls from Geraint Jones topped off a brilliant run chase by Whitland in Cresselly.

The home side had piled on 262-7 in 45 overs, but such totals seem no longer enough in the top flight of Pembrokeshire cricket and sure enough, Jones and co knocked the runs off with seven wickets still in hand.

Away skipper Matthew Davies won the toss and chose to field but after Jones bowled Daniel Sutton for a brief 22 (five fours), a partnership of 122 between opener Phil Williams and Simon Cole put the Doves in charge, before the latter was caught by Jack Bowen off Davies for 58 (10 fours).

The same bowler had Williams caught by Jacob Owen for 62 (10 fours), but then Alex Bayley and Ryan Lewis built on the platform.

Bayley made 33 (two fours and a six) before Lewis leathered 47 in only 31 balls, launching five fours and a six in the process to help his team to a big total. For Whitland skipper Davies finished with 3-54, Jones 2-62, and Dylan Blain 1-59.

The Borderers were then seemingly up against it at 54-2 after Dylan Blain (10) was caught by Simon Cole off Sam Harts (1-36), and Tom Arthur (1-71) clean bowled Bowen as he went on his usual attack with 21 (three fours and a six).

But then came a stand of 184 between Jones and Davies, with the former hitting six fours and an incredible 14 sixes before eventually holing out to Harts off Ryan Lewis (1-48).

At that point though Whitland were within 25 runs of victory, and ‘Titch’ stayed solid to post 62 not out, and was joined by Nathan Evans who hit three fours in a swift 15 not out as the visitors remarkably won it still with 10 overs in hand.

Cresselly innings:           

Daniel Sutton b Geraint Jones 22

Phil Williams ct Jack Bowen b Matthew Davies 62

Simon Cole ct Jacob Owen b Matthew Davies 58,

Alex Bayley ct Nathan Evans b Jacob Owen 33

Iwan Izzard b Matthew Davies 2

Ryan Lewis 47 not out

Steffan Jenkins ct Nathan Evans b Geraint Jones 7

Mike Shaw run out 14

Neilson Cole 0 not out

Extras: 16.

Total: 261-7 in 45 overs.

Bowling: Ben Harvey 12-2-0-53; Geraint Jones 10-2-2-62; Matthew Davies 12-0-3-54; Dylan Blain 8-0-0-50; Jacob Owen 1-0-0-9; Nathan Evans 2-0-0-18.

Whitland innings:

Dylan Blain ct Simon Cole b Sam Harts 10

Jack Bowen b Tom Arthur 21

Geraint Jones 150 c Sam Harts b Nathan Evans

Matthew Davies 62 not out

Nathan Evans 15 not out

Extras: 7.

Total: 265 for 3 in 35 overs.

Bowling: Tom Arthur 5-0-1-37; Sam Harts 5-1-1-36; Mike Shaw 7-0-0-59; Daniel Sutton 3-0-0-12; Ryan Lewis 5-0-1-26; Simon Cole 1-0-0-20.

Umpires: Richard Scriven, Mervyn John.

Scorers: Teagan Cartwright,  Ann-Marie Jenkins.