Pre-season friendly:

Haverfordwest County 3-4 Cardiff City Under 23s 

James Waite grabbed a late winner to secure Cardiff City Under 23s a hard-fought victory against Haverfordwest County in a seven-goal thriller at the Bridge Meadow Stadium.

Former Bluebird Danny Williams was captain for the visitors and the classy striker was denied twice from inside the box by Steven Hall in the opening 45.

The visitors controlled the first half with the hosts struggling to get a foothold in the game. Waite opened the scoring with a neat finish as he placed his low shot into the bottom corner.

The game came alive in the second period where there were no less than five-goals scored in a frenetic finish as the visitors just edged victory.

Keeper Hall pulled off a string of excellent saves for the hosts as the visitors narrowly led 1-0 at half time.

After the break Wayne Jones’ Haverfordwest County outfit equalised with the goal of the game. Miles John’s cross from the right was met by a spectacular over head volley by Marcus Griffiths from the edge of the 18-yard box which crashed into the back of Warren Burwood’s net.

The hosts took the lead through a cracking header from centre back Scot Tancock with Tom Dyson the provider stemming from a short corner with Ben Fawcett.

Andy Legg’s youngsters quickly equalised as Tavio Koukau D’Almeida slotted home from close range from the very next attack.

The hosts regained the lead as Dyson’s cross was met by Jack Wilson who slid in at the far post.

But once again the Under 23s equalised as a free kick conceded on the edge of the box allowed Jake Evans to curl his effort into the bottom corner.

Fawcett unleashed a 20-yard rocket which flew into the net, but his brilliant effort was ruled out for offside.

Right at the death the visitors pinched victory as lively striker Waite ghosted into the box and fired into the back of the net to seal victory for the young professionals.

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall, Jake Merry, Miles John, Sean Pemberton (Captain), Scot Tancock, Ricky Watts, Kurtis Rees, Elliot Thomas, Marcus Griffiths, Ben Fawcett, Tyler Brock. Substitutes: Jack Wilson, Nicky Palmer, Tom Dyson, Tim Hicks, Kyle Stuart.

Cardiff City Under 23s: Warren Burwood, Ryan Pryce, Dan Martin, Aaron Bolger, Ben Margetson, Trystan Jones, Danny Williams (Captain), Keenan Patten, Shamar Moorer, James Waite, Laurence Wootton. Substitutes: Will Warnock, Jaimie Cogman, Sam Bowen, Jac Davies, Tavio Koukau D’Almeida, Sion Price, Jake Evans.

Referee: Tom Bevan.

Assistants: David Badger and Craig Templeton.