JD Cymru South:

Pontypridd Town 1 - Haverfordwest County 3

Haverfordwest County won their second successive match putting on a thoroughly convincing display against Pontypridd Town played at Aberaman Park, Aberdare.

A screamer from Harri Rowe, plus further goals from Elliot Thomas and Miles John secured Haverfordwest County’s second win on the trot despite Josh Maxi pulling one back for the home outfit when two goals adrift.

Pontypridd Town drew 1-1 with Llanelli Town, the latter played in the Welsh Premier last season, so this clash was always going to be a stiff test for the Bluebirds, but they came through it with flying colours.

The visitors opened the scoring in the 28th minute with an absolute cracker, Elliot Thomas’ terrific 40-yard cross-field pass fell invitingly for left wing back Rowe who volleyed into the top corner from the edge of the 18-yard box.

Haverfordwest County continued to press and were rewarded in the 35th minute when Thomas struck to give his side a healthy two-goal cushion.

Goal scorer Rowe turned provider with his inch perfect ball over the top it fell invitingly to Thomas who ran clear and finished clinically from a one-on-one.

It gave the Bluebirds a thoroughly deserved 2-0 cushion at half time.

However, Pontypridd hit back with a well taken goal in the 55th minute scored by Josh Maxi who made no mistake with firm header at the back stick.

The visitors continued to push forward and were rewarded when they added a decisive third goal in the 76th minute, Miles John cut in from the wing and drilled a low shot into the far corner, this was the right wing back’s second goal from two starts.

On Tuesday evening, August 27 the Bluebirds are home against Goytre United, kick off 7.30pm at the Bridge Meadow Stadium.

Shortly after the final whistle Haverfordwest County manager Wayne Jones said: “This was a very gritty, strong performance and we played well this afternoon. Marcus Griffiths was outstanding up front playing as a lone striker, to be fair he worked his socks off! We go again on Tuesday night when we face Goytre United at home.”

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall, Miles John, Harri Rowe, Sean Pemberton (Captain), Sam Rodon, Scott Tancock, Kurtis Rees, Tom Dyson, Elliot Thomas, Marcus Griffiths, Ricky Watts. Substitutes: Tyler Brock, Jack Wilson, Tim Hicks, Kyle Stuart (gk).