Llanrhian cause massive upset

First published in Sport

Llanrhian (152 for 7) beat Neyland (147 all out)

LLANRHIAN caused the shock of the day as they beat previously unbeaten champions Neyland by five runs in a real spine-tingler at Llandigige Fawr where Henry Durrant and Gary Lloyd, the last pair for Neyland, advanced the score from 118 for 9 before Lloyd was adjudged LBW to Dominic Wright off the last ball of the 44th over.

Llanrhian had Matthew Bennett (41) as top scorer, assisted by steady knocks fro Ben Jones (20), Gareth Davies (15), Dominic Wright (15) and Geraint Morris (10) but they kept building starts and then getting out. Andrew Miller (3 for 3) was again Neyland’s chief wicket taker alongside Nick Koomen (2 for 28), Gary Lloyd (1 for 22) and Henry Durrant (1 for 22) as Neyland would have settled to chase that sort of score at the start of the game.

But they were soon in trouble at 48 for 6 before Scott Jones scored 36 and had support from Durrant (22 not out), Ashley Sutton (16), Nick Koomen (13), Sean Hannon (18) and Paul Miller (14). Luke Jones (4 for 27) and Matthew Bennett (3 for 42) joined Gareth Davies (1 for 21) as the Llanrhian wicket-takers before Wright struck late on – and they celebrated at The Sloop in some style afterwards.

Umpires: Tony Waldeis & David Loosmore.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree